Eyeshadow / Facial Masks / FOTD / Jill Stuart / My Beauty Diary / Pinkey / Reviews

Review: Sasa Haul pt. 2 – My Beauty Diary, Pinkey and Jill Stuart FOTD

Here is part two of my Sasa haul 🙂

My Beauty Diary sheet masks
Recently, the My Beauty Diary sheet masks have been very popular, so I decided to try some out. My Beauty Diary is a Taiwanese brand, and if you’re not familiar with sheet masks, they’re basically a soft cloth cut with eye, nose and mouth holes designed to be worn on the face. Some sheet masks even have ear flaps so that the mask can stay on better. 🙂

I’ve tried the Bulgarian White Rose variety and Mixed Berry variety (which is a ‘premium’ mask).
These sheets are a very good deal, I think! On Sasa.com, you can get a box of 10 for just under $12 and they work very well. I was dubious, but I was really shocked even after my first use; my face was visibly brighter, more luminous and smoother. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to capture a good before/after shot. 😦

The box recommends to leave on around 20-30 minutes, so I usually put it on and then hang around watching TV or reading a book. Afterwards, I wipe the mask on my neck, decolletage and arms and massage the remaining essence in. For my face, I usually follow up with a light moisturizer (currently using Shiseido White Lucent emulsion).
I am rather conflicted on use; the box recommends to use a few times a week, but sheet masks tend to be a daily part of an Asian girl’s routine, so I’m unsure which would be best. I’ve taken it to using it about once a week, simply because I don’t always have time to sit around with a mask on.
The fit is fair; I realize it’s impossible to make a one-size-fits-all mask, but the holes conform to my face fairly well with little overlap.
The mask is very well constructed, soft and thick and well saturated with essence. I tend to prefer masks with a lot of essence, and this is just about right for me.

So far, I prefer the Bulgarian White Rose variety to the Mixed Berry; I feel the results are more striking and the fragrance is a very light tea rose scent which is relaxing. The Mixed Berry scent is a little cloying and plastic to me, unfortunately. It gives me a headache if I wear it for longer than 20 minutes.
I’d really like to try the Japanese Cherry Blossom, Strawberry Yogurt and Chocolate masks next 🙂
Also, Beautymate is new on Sasa and quickly gaining popularity, so I’d love to try those, especially the Yamagata Cherry and Aomori Green Apple types.

Definitely a thumbs up for me! Do be careful when buying these masks online… Lately the proliferation of fakes have led some girls to experience horrible skin irritation and rash from the counterfeit masks. Always buy from a reputable source, and remember: it’s always better to spend a few extra dollars from a trusted seller, than to risk your skin and/or health! I always get mine from Sasa so no worries there, but if you buy from eBay, I’ve heard the seller alphabeautyuk is very reputable (not affiliated with seller, and I’ve never bought from him/her myself).

Pinkey Blackhead Off and Moisture Mask and Pinkey Rose Water Treatment Hand Cream
These two I bought on a whim, simply because they were too cheap to pass up. If I recall correctly, both were under $2 on Sasa.com. Of course, the size is rather small (appropriate for the hand cream) but you don’t need much of either.
The Blackhead Off and Moisture Mask is a peeling (charcoal?) mask intended for blackheads. If you’re familiar with Biore pore strips, this is the same premise except the mask dries on your skin instead of a cloth strip. It is a rather shocking black color (hence why I believe the inclusion of charcoal), and comes out rather sticky and goopy. I was unsure of how much to put on, and ended up slathering on a generous amount. It dried rather quickly.
Unfortunately, I have very little luck with blackhead masks. The Biore strips never worked for me, though they did pull out all the little fine hairs I have around my nose. xD The Pinkey mask was no difference, and probably a bit less efficacious considering the mask dried to a thin consistency. If you’ve ever gotten school glue on your hands and peeled it off, this is very similar.
Though they are not expressly indicated for nose use, that is the only area I tend to have blackheads, hence why I did not try it in other areas. 🙂 I believe if you have blackheads in other areas of your face, this would be appropriate also.
I actually got this for the express purpose of using it on my boyfriend’s nose, but I have not had an opportunity to yet. When he first saw me with the mask on, I think I scared him off a bit. xD The Biore strips tend to work on him, so hopefully this mask will too! I will update when I have a chance.

The Pinkey Rose Water Hand Cream disappoints me only in its scent; it has a very strong chemical scent with barely any true rose scent. It is not wholly unpleasant, but certainly not what I’d consider rose-scented. Either way, I look past this and give this a big thumbs up because it works! It is a very effective hand cream, deeply moisturizing and fast-absorbing with absolutely no greasy feel. I believe part of its efficacy is due to the inclusion of urea. I like it so much that I only use it with my at-home manicures to keep my hands soft and smooth. 🙂 The scent disappears rather quickly, so again, not a huge issue to me. I will definitely repurchase this! It’s a very appropriate size for a hand cream, and for the price, it can’t be beat.

Jill Stuart EOTD

I thought I’d showcase one of my favorite everyday looks, using the Jill Stuart Brilliance Eyes palette in Amber Glaze. The Jill Stuart point collection is available at the NYC Soho boutique location, but only certain bits and bobs. (You may buy the entire point and base collections on various sites, including Ichibankao, Adambeauty, Imomoko and cosme-de, but I have never bought from these sites myself.)
I did not like the eye palettes they had last time I went, so I settled on the neutral variation and I’ve come to like it a lot for an easy, bright eye.

Though there are no obvious glitter bits, the shimmer is rather intense and causes extreme fallout. I usually apply with a sponge applicator and blend with a brush, holding a tissue underneath my eye to prevent fallout. Also keep in mind the old standby of dusting on a generous amount of translucent setting powder underneath your eye and sweeping it off afterwards. 🙂
The white highlighting shade is almost completely sheer, with very fine gold and silver microglitter.
The peachy pink shade is very sheer as well, but adds a very beautiful dimension to my upper lid.
The antique gold shade is fairly pigmented, and I like to use this all over my lid.
The dusty espresso shade is the most pigmented of the four, and excellent for lining, in the outer V of the eye and in the crease.

sorry for blurry pictureFor those curious, I’m wearing Freshlook Colorblends in Amethyst 🙂

Eyes:
Jill Stuart Brilliance Eyes in Amber Glaze
Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Zero
Lancome Hypnose Drama mascara

Face:
Benefit Boi-ing concealer in 02
Christian Dior Hydraction Skin Tint in 02
Lavshuca Loose Powder in Lucent
Too Faced blush in Papa Don’t Peach

Lips:
Christian Dior Dior Addict Hi-Shine Lipstick in Spotlight Coral

By the way, did you see my new earrings? 🙂

I got them from Forever 2 for $4! The set also came with some black rose studs which I can’t wait to wear; they remind me of Sailor Jupiter! xD

I wanted to mention… because this is a new blog, I’m still trying to decide how I want to format the pictures! If you’ll notice, I did very clean cutouts of the products last post, but this post, I left them mostly as is. Also, I’m deciding whether or not to watermark all my pictures, or just the pictures of myself (I’ve had my identity “stolen” by other people using my pictures and claiming to be me). I’ll figure something out, but for now, please forgive the disjointed look of everything!

Leave a Reply

