EOTD / Eyeliner / Haul / L'oreal / Reviews / Tresemme

Mini-haul and quick EOTD

It feels like I haven’t updated in forever! School caught up with me, but now it’s Spring Break so lots of time to play around :>

CVS is having a great sale this week where all L’oreal liners and shadows are $5. I’ve been coveting some of the L’oreal HIP Color Chrome eyeliners because word is their formula is almost identical to Urban Decay’s 24/7 liners, which I lovelovelove. The liners are normally $10, and I always held off, but it’s like a BOGO sale this week, so I splurged! (I’m on a no-buying hold… more on this later.)
I actually tried to go to CVS last night and look for them, but they had taken down the entire L’oreal display (maybe it broke?) and the collections were scattered on the floor. I tried picking through them while my boyfriend graciously wandered around, but I couldn’t find the ones I wanted. It was like some cruel joke…
So today after lunch, he took me to another CVS and I picked up everything I wanted. :’]


I got the Color Chrome eyeliners in Black Shock, Gold Charge, and Violet Volt. Just to round it out, I also picked up one of the L’oreal HIP kohl eyeliners in Burgundy Kohl. It’s more of a reddish plum than burgundy to me, but still very pretty! To the left is the Tresemme Fresh Start Refreshing Mist. More on that in a bit.

Swatches! Left to right: Black Shock, Violet Volt, Gold Charge, Burgundy Kohl

The liners are amazing! I think they might even go on smoother than the UD ones. Black Shock is definitely more pigmented than UD’s Zero (no comparison, sorry… lazylazy day), and one of my biggest complaints was with the pigmentation of Lust (a deep purple): it’s almost like a dry-erase marker… if you go back over it, it erases what you had before!
But Violet Volt is sooo pretty. I can’t wait to wear these out. 🙂

I was worried/excited about the kohl; I’ve never used kohl liners before, and at first, I tried to put it on the traditional way (you put the stick against your waterline, close your eye and then swipe out) but I think I need some more practice… I ended up just using the sponge tip to dab it onto my waterline and I think it looked really nice! I normally hate lining my waterline; it makes my eyes look smaller because I can never seem to smudge it out enough to look soft and sexy instead of harsh… but the kohl, being a powder, does it automatically. 🙂

This was my eye look for the day. I touched it up with Black Shock on the top, and Burgundy Kohl on my right (your left) waterline. I did this to show why I love this look so much. It’s bright and fun for daytime, but you can easily switch it for nighttime with just a bit of eyeliner smudged on the waterline.

As you can see, it does make my eye look smaller, but for nighttime, it does make a more striking eye. Two close-ups below:

Right eye for daytime

Left eye for nighttime

Products used:
Urban Decay Primer Potion (UDPP)
Urban Decay eyeshadow in Half-Baked (all over lid), Flash (lined and blended up into outer v), and Sin (brow highlighter)
L’oreal HIP Color Chrome eyeliner in Black Shock
L’oreal HIP kohl in Burgundy Kohl (left eye waterline)
Max Factor 2000 Calorie mascara
Clinique Lash Doubling mascara (left eye bottom lashes)

The Tresemme Refreshing Mist I got to use with my Tresemme Dry Shampoo. I like it a lot but sometimes it does leave my hair looking dull, so hopefully the refreshing mist will help with that. It was on sale this week, too, 3 for $10, but I only got the one.

As to my no-buying hold… I’m moving in two months and I’m trying to save up for the inevitable deposits and fees and nonsense that will come with moving out and moving in to a new place. I splurged a little bit today because I had such a long week at school (two tests and a quiz on Wednesday! then work after…) but from here on out, I won’t buy anything unless I absolutely need it!

We’ll see how well I do…

On an unrelated note, I’ve been dieting with my boyfriend for the past couple of weeks and I really want a cheeseburger!! ;n;

One thought on “Mini-haul and quick EOTD

Leave a Reply

