Haircare / Organix / Reviews

Review: Organix Coconut Milk Shampoo and Conditioner, Anti-breakage Serum

One final push to the end… I’ve got finals, moving-out and graduation in two weeks! A bit stressed… But I have some aromatherapy to help me out!

I bought the Organix Coconut Milk Anti-Breakage Serum a few weeks ago on a whim. I’ve always been interested in Organix’s products, but I never splurged. I took a chance because of how this smelled: like fresh, sweet coconut milk. I’m not a big fan of the taste of coconut, unless it’s in curries, but I love the smell.
The serum works pretty nicely; it tames my frizz and makes my hair shiny, but it does tend to turn me into a bit of a greaseball in one day if I use two pumps. It’s kind of a trade-off: if I use one pump, I don’t see as much of the benefits but my hair doesn’t get as greasy as quickly; if I use two pumps, I see less frizz and more shine, but I need to wash every day.
Your mileage may vary, depending on your hair thickness and frizz concerns, obviously.

Naturally, this got me interested in the shampoo and conditioner range. (By the way, everything in the Organix range is, obviously, supposed to be some level of organic, but there’s no Eco-Cert seal so I’m dubious.)
I gave up on the Shiseido Tsubaki and gave it to my mom… she’s the recipient of all my bath and body graveyard items. xD

Luckily, Rite Aid was having a BOGO on Organix about a week or so after my lemming took over, so I jumped on the chance. Now, here’s the thing… I’m fairly sure I got some old bottles. There’s no indication of the manufacturing date, but the label on the back is completely different from the labels on all the other Organix bottles I’ve seen. The main difference is it only lists itself as sulfate-free, whereas the newer labels also list paraben-free in addition. There’s some extra copy blurb on the newer labels too, but nothing significant. Does this affect the efficacy of the product? I’m not sure. I’ve been using it for about a week, but I love it so far!

This is my first try with a sulfate-free shampoo, and I have to be honest: I’ve always been skeptical of the sulfate and silicone and paraben hooha. I get it; some people see better results if they skip sulfates or silicones. But it really aggravates me to see people really pushing it on others, like it’s the end-all be-all of haircare.
It’s kind of like the mini-controversy surrounding washing every day. Maybe it’s just my natural Good Asian Hair, but I’ve been a daily washer since I was a kid and never saw any negative side effects. In fact, I get an itchy scalp from the buildup if I don’t wash daily. People try to convince me to go ‘poo-less and wash only a few times a week, but I’m sorry. I don’t know where they live or work where it’s OK to go around like Pigpen for weeks while your hair “restores its natural oil balance.”

Anyway! So, what I’m trying to say is, I can’t speak on whether this shampoo/conditioner combo is any better because of its lack of sulfates or whatever. It’s something I’m totally unconcerned with, but if you prefer sulfate-free haircare, this would be a great option to consider!

Although there are no sulfates, it does use a similar surfactant so those of you who like lather, no fear! It doesn’t create giant fluffy mounds of foam, but it does lather up pretty well considering. Something strange I noticed, the shampoo feels like half-set Jell-O. It rinses out easily, and leaves my hair squeaky clean, a feeling I personally don’t enjoy but I know some girls like it.
I should be clear, though, the conditioner does contain silicones. However, to me it feels more like a protein conditioner (not very detangling) than a traditional moisturizing conditioner. It is very thick and easy to apply. The conditioner rinses out very easily, something I like. I hate conditioners where I have to stand under the shower for 10 minutes for the slippery feeling to go away.

Afterwards, my hair smells delicious and feels strong, soft and shiny. I’m surprised with how impressed I am with this product. It makes my hair look and feel so amazing, like in hair commercials. I actually walked around campus today, fluffing and playing with my hair in the sunlight to admire it. (I tried to be discreet, but I’m sure people were staring…)

I went without the serum last night to see the difference, and I think I may start reserving its use for humid weather or when I need my hair to look particularly groomed. Otherwise, my hair is perfectly fine without.

The round bottles are cute but take up a lot of shower space. My shampoo flip top broke in a way I’m not able to describe, but it makes it so I can’t latch it closed. The conditioner can be hard to squeeze out because of the viscosity and the bottle shape.

Pros:
+ Smells delicious
+ Readily available at CVS, Rite Aid, Walmart, Target, etc.
+ Affordable (usually around $5 – $7 / bottle, but there’s always BOGOs at CVS and Rite Aid!)
+ Leaves my hair feeling strong and soft, and sooo shiny

Cons:
– Conditioner may not be detangling enough for girls who need it

Packaging: 9/10
Quality: 10/10
Value: 10/10
Overall: A+ – This is possibly my new favorite shampoo/conditioner duo! I love the smell, the way it makes my hair look and feel, and it’s affordable! What more could you ask for?

I’m planning another Sasa haul in the near future, so expect more reviews! But I will be MIA for a bit while I get school and the new apartment out of the way. Stressed, but can’t wait!

One thought on “Review: Organix Coconut Milk Shampoo and Conditioner, Anti-breakage Serum

Leave a Reply

