Aveeno / Kanebo / Kose / Kracie / Lubriderm / Mentholatum / Neutrogena / Softymo / Sunplay / Sunscreens

The Sunscreen Shuffle + new cleansing oils

Now that summer’s upon us, a lot of girls are reaching for their sunscreens. Truthfully though, one ought to wear sunscreen every single day, even when it’s cloudy. I personally am rather bad about this… I wear a face sunscreen daily, but I neglect my neck/decolletage, arms, legs, etc. I’ve been trying to fix this lately.

 The Sunscreen Shuffle

These are the sunscreens I use currently, and I really do shuffle through them, mood depending. I included a facial moisturizer in there because it does contain SPF 30, and I’ve noticed daytime moisturizerstend to have low SPF or none at all (my current moisturizer, Korres Pomegranate Balancing Moisturizer, has a rather laughable SPF 6…). I’ve used this particular moisturizer for about 4 years now and it’s still one of my staples.

Products shown, front to back, left to right:
Metholatum Sunplay Clear Water SPF 50
Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Moisturizer SPF 30
Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Liquid Daily Sunblock SPF 70
Walgreens Continuous Spray Sunscreen SPF 50
Lubriderm Advanced Therapy Lotion Moisturizer with Sunscreen SPF 30
Aveeno Continuous Protection Sunblock Lotion Face SPF 70

The Sunplay is a new addition, recently acquired from a small Sasa haul that included the cleansing oils at the end of this post. I had high hopes for it, but I only like it. It has an odd almost silicone slip to it, and it is extremely milky, meaning it absorbs very quickly and well but it is also hard to blend out.
I was happy to see the Neutrogena liquid sunblock on shelves, because it shows a trend towards Asian-type sunscreens which are, in my opinion, superior. They tend to be milky instead of creamy, fast-absorbing, and hold up well to heat and humidity; many also act excellently as makeup bases. It is thicker than the Sunplay, but still has a good liquid consistency. It takes a few moments to absorb fully and doesn’t seem to have any makeup base properties, but I still like it very much.
The Walgreens spray I recently bought for an outdoor slip-and-slide/BBQ. I prefer spray sunscreens for the body because they’re so convenient. This particular spray came in a 3 pack, with two suncreens and an aloe cooling mist for only $12.99. I thought it was a great bargain, and no one came out of the day sunburned.
The Lubriderm lotion I bought in an effort to force myself to begin using sunscreens on my body. It has a light generic lotion scent, and only faintly smells of sunscreen; this is the main reason why I got it as opposed to a regular body sunscreen. It is very thick and creamy, and takes a long time to absorb, but it is moisturizing and holds well throughout the day.
The Aveeno face sunblock I actually got in an Aveeno giftpack giveaway I won. I would not wear this suncreen under makeup. It does not leave the face greasy, but it does tend to feel heavy and I would assume makeup would slide right off.

My favorite face/body sunscreen remains anything Shiseido, but it tends to be out of my budget for the most part. 

Remember that no sunscreen is waterproof/sweatproof! The FDA is currently redoing regulations regarding the labeling of sunscreens, and the two major details being reworked regard the labels “waterproof” and anything above SPF50. Although there is higher sun protection above SPF 50, studies show it’s negligible (don’t quote me, but it’s something like 98.4% of UV rays blocked at SPF 50, and 98.6% at SPF 100). Moreover, no sunscreen is truly waterproof and it’s good practice to reapply regularly, especially after sweating or watersports. 

Along with the Sunplay, I got two new cleansing oils to try out.

Kose Softymo Speedy Cleansing Oil + Kanebo Kracie Naive Make-up Cleansing Facial Oil
The Kose Softymo oil came in a two pack: one 230ml pump bottle and a 140ml refill packet. It was packaged in a clear drawstring bag, but Sasa cut it open to wrap the top of the pump bottle in bubble wrap, so if I had been giving this as a gift, I might be upset. As it is, I applaud their efforts to make sure the bottles survived in transit. 😛 It is unscented and has good slip. I use about 3-4 pumps for my entire face, and after rinsing with warm water, I don’t detect any film. I still use a face wash afterwards, just to be safe.
The Naive oil is 170ml and has a soft rose scent that I enjoy, and it has a slightly greasy slip. It’s more slippery than the Kose. I use about 3-4 pumps for my entire face, but I feel like it leaves a film after rinsing. If I don’t rinse very very well, it leaves my vision cloudy. I would definitely follow this up with a face wash. I don’t know how/why this oil is a different beast than the Orange variety, and Sasa is fairly unhelpful regarding this. I am assuming it has brightening properties, only because rose-type products tend to be brightening.
I don’t wear waterproof mascara lately, so I can’t speak of how effective either is in this regard, but to be honest, both of these cleansing oils perform about the same to me. They are very inexpensive (and the Kose Softymo in particular is a good deal with the refill pack) and worth a look if you’re in the market for a cleansing oil! I still prefer the Kracie Naive orange cleansing oil slightly, because it has a slightly thicker consistency, but that’s purely personal preference. 

I haven’t been very creative with my makeup lately. I think it mirrors my mood; I’ve been rather low-key lately, so I don’t feel like very bright and outrageous makeup.

I did get the Coastal Scents 88 palette recently, as well as a few new brushes. I’ll review the brushes in a later post, but the Coastal Scents palette has been done so well by now, my review would really add nothing. 😛 For what it’s worth, I feel the palette is a good value, but don’t expect MAC or Urban Decay quality. The shadows are soft and crumbly, and pigmentation varies wildly depending on the finish and color. Still though, it’s a great jumping point for brights. 

Rock and Republic had a sale on Hautelook today, so I picked up a blush in X-Rated and a lip gloss in Muse. Once they arrive, I’ll swatch and review! I’m rather anxious; X-Rated looks so bright in the pan. Part of the reason I got it is because I have a dearth of blushes; I own exactly four, and three are coral-y pinks.

Speaking of blushes, I really love the new Jill Stuart Fall 2010 blushes… my birthday is coming up soon, so maybe a little fairy (named Mike that I live with and love very much…) will get me some goodies. :3

3 thoughts on “The Sunscreen Shuffle + new cleansing oils

  1. I like the tinted Outsmart sunscreen from origins! The tint is very, very pale & the major benefit is that it doesn't give your face that greasy feeling or have that sunscreen smell–it smells more like grapefruit! It's slightly expensive, though–about $21 for 1.7 ounces. The little goes a very long way, though–especially if you keep it strictly for face and neck!

  2. @Anonymous: Thanks for the comment! I've honestly never tried ANYTHING from Origins, but I love tinted moisturizers and grapefruit so I might have to go check it out! 😀 $21 for 1.7 oz isn't THAT bad, when you consider my favorite TM (Dior Hydraction, now Dior Hydra-Life) is $39 for the same amount!

  3. Sorry, totally didn't realize that I forgot to put my name! This is Amy, by the way! The one from origins really goes a long way for the amount and the price! I use a few products by them! They all smell delish!

Leave a Reply

