Lip Stain / Lipstick / Mascara / Maybelline / Milani / Reviews

[REVIEW] Maybelline Color Sensational Lip Stain, Milani HD Advanced Lip Color, Maybelline Colossal Volum’Express Mascara

About a month ago, CVS was having an ExtraBucks sale on Maybelline lip products, so I picked up two lipstains to try out, as well as the new Milani HD Advanced Lip Color (because it looked so similar to the new Dior Serum de Rouges, which are a bit dear for my budget right now). On a later couponing trip to Rite-Aid, I had some coupons for Maybelline and I needed a new mascara; I’d heard good things about the Colossal Volum’Express so I figured it was worth a try. Thus begins this review!

Maybelline Color Sensational Lip Stain
From Maybelline.com:

  • Sheer wash of color from water-based pigments
  • Fresh, barely-there feel from vitamin-enriched berry nectar

I bought two shades: Feelin’ Rosy, a bright berry-mauve, and Cherry Pop, a fiery cherry red. The lipstains have a fruity vaguely watermelon and/or cherry scent, but it is not noticeable after application. They go on smoothly and are very watery. They have a standard marker tip which is firm and useful for detailed application. 
As with any lip stain, it’s important to properly exfoliate and moisturize your lips beforehand. I found, however, that even so, application tended to be slightly patchy and uneven. I had to do two or three applications before color was even, and then the color would be too loud or overstated for my tastes.

With Feelin’ Rosy, I got maybe an hour or two out of it before it faded into a ring around my lips. On the other hand, I wore Cherry Pop one night and even after brushing my teeth and going to bed, my lips were still stained the next morning.
Of the two, Feelin’ Rosy is obviously the more wearable of the options, but I still found it too bright for my tastes. On my natural lip color, it morphed into an almost-fuchsia brightness. I would not be comfortable wearing it to work.

Overall, I give this a B.
They are very affordable, usually around $7 a pop at mass market retailers and drugstores, and Maybelline often goes on sale so it’s possible to score them for much less. However, I felt the staying power was really lacking for Feelin’ Rosy and application was not as foolproof as I would’ve liked. If you love lipstains, these are a good option to try.

Milani HD Advanced Lip Color
From CherryCulture.com*:
* For some reason, Milani doesn’t have this product on their site yet, although it’s part of their newest collection, if I’m not mistaken.

Milani introduces a 3-in-1 lip color, luxurious feel, decadent color and unforgettable shine. Radiant color shine projected in hi-definition. Moisture rich for comfortable feel. A serum infused formula hydrates lips on every application. Definition improves, day after day for youthful, beautiful lips.

I have the shade Classy Nude, a warm pinky-brown. The tube design is really nice for Milani, which I often find myself passing up solely because of the packaging. It’s very obviously styled after Dior Serum de Rouge, with a couture-inspired click tube and a slim angled tip. It’s scented like artificial watermelon. To me, it smells a lot like Jolly Ranchers but sweeter.

It has a smooth, creamy application and feels very balm-like on the lips. It is moderately pigmented, covering natural lip color without being completely opaque. However, it doesn’t seem particularly moisturizing to me; even if I make sure my lips are properly exfoliated and moisturized before application, the lipcolor tends to dry out and settle into my lip lines.
Moreover, it has an odd feeling on the lips. It kinda just “sits” on top and doesn’t hug your lips comfortably. It lasted around 2 hours for me without eating or drinking. Because of its creamy texture, it’s easy to overapply and thus could end up getting used up rather quickly.

Overall, I give it a C+.
It’s a little higher priced than other items in Milani’s line, but remains an affordable option. However, it has a weird, uncomfortable feeling on my lips and is rather uneventful overall.

Swatches below:

Left to right:
Maybelline Color Sensational Lip Stain in Feelin’ Rosy and Cherry Pop
Milani HD Advanced Lip Color in Classy Nude

Maybelline Colossal Volum’Express Waterproof Mascara
From Maybelline.com:

Creates 7X the volume, instantly.

  • Patented MegaBrush + Collagen Formula plump lashes one by one
  • Dramatic Volume with no clumps
  • Waterproof

I have the shade Glam Black. I really never know what the difference between these different blacks in mascaras are, but I always try to choose the one that “sounds” blackest. 😛 The formula is very wet and glossy, and applies easily without clumping.


It has a big bushy brush that doesn’t collect too much mascara; unfortunately, as you’ll see in the pictures, it causes the mascara to apply rather sloppily. If you have a mascara guard, or even an index card laying about, you’ll want to use it for this mascara.
Besides that, though, this is a great volumizing mascara. It doesn’t clump easily and you can layer coats without spider legs or unilashes forming. It lengthens a fair bit, although it’s obviously not meant for that. It also holds a curl extremely well; since my lashes are so thin, they tend to get weighed down and lose their curl almost immediately. Probably because of the waterproof formulation, it keeps the curl going up all day long.
It does smudge and raccoon-eye a little on me through the day, though, despite being waterproof. I had the same problem with Dior DiorShow in waterproof, so I wonder if the regular formulas will fare any better (paradoxical though this may sound).

Overall, I give this an A-.
This is a knockout for a drugstore mascara. It gives outstanding clump-free volume, length and definition. Oily-lidded girls may find it smudges on them, and you’ll need to have a careful hand to avoid getting mascara all over your eyelid. However, for the price and results, it’s really a great buy.

The pictures don’t really do it justice. My eyelashes were being all wonky the day I took the pictures, so the mascara applied wonky. It really looks nicely feathered and natural when applied correctly.

My bare face and eye, with sad, straight and droopy lashes
Lashes curled with one coat of
Maybelline Colossal Volum’Express Waterproof Mascara
in Glam Black

That’s a really horrible picture, now that I’m looking at it again. I need to practice my macro shots of my eyes…

Lots more reviews to come, and don’t forget the big giveaway coming up! Have you tried any of these? What did you think?

3 thoughts on “[REVIEW] Maybelline Color Sensational Lip Stain, Milani HD Advanced Lip Color, Maybelline Colossal Volum’Express Mascara

  1. Pingback: Milani Color Statement Lipstick in High Voltage Review, Swatches, PicturesBubble Tea Panda

Leave a Reply

