Mascara / Reviews / Sephora

[REVIEW] Mini-review: Sephora Beauty Insider birthday gift

It was my birthday on August 28th and while getting my sister a few gifts for her birthday on September 6th, I picked up my complimentary Sephora Beauty Insider birthday gift.

I forget if I got mine last year, because I honestly can’t think of what it was. I do remember that one year it was a cupcake-scented body wash.

Anyway, this year I got a set of three mini Sephora branded items: Sephora Mono eyeshadow in Aspen Summit, Sephora Nano eyes eye pencil in silver green, and Sephora Mascara Lash plumper.

The eyeshadow has pretty good pigmentation; it feels silky and is moderately blendable. It’s a frosty white with silver sheen. Rather pretty, although I’m not sure how I’ll use it.

The eye pencil is rubbish. As you can see in the swatch, it gives a very faint and streaky line with one swipe, and requires a lot of “coloring in” to get good color payoff.

I expected the mascara to be totally useless, but it’s actually not so bad. Nothing to write home about and definitely not anything worth lemming over, but it’s better than immediately throwing in the trash. The brush is bushy and collects a ton of excess mascara. Despite this, however, it applies cleanly with few clumps. The end result is very subtle and natural. It claims to be a lash plumper but didn’t give me any extreme volume or length.

My bare eye
My lashes, curled,
with one coat of Sephora Mascara Lash Plumper

It didn’t smudge, flake or run on me either, despite not being waterproof. Pretty good for a free gift!

Leave a Reply

