Blush / Brows / Concealer / Mascara / Wet n Wild

[REVIEW] Wet n Wild Ultimate Brow Kit, CoverAll liquid concealer, ColorIcon blusher, MegaLength mascara

Like I mentioned before, I have quite a few new Wet n Wild items from a recent couponing expedition. I picked a few out to give away, so I won’t have reviews on those, but these are the ones I’ve been test-driving recently.

Wet n Wild Ultimate Brow Kit
From wnwbeauty.com:

Mini brow salon in a handy, purse-friendly compact with all the essential tools to shape, smooth, define, and maintain perfect brows. This five-piece set includes a soft wax that shapes brows, two setting powders for definition, a hard angle brush for easy application, and mini tweezers for stray hairs.

It only seems to be available in one shade selection, Ash Brown. It’s perfect for me, as I have naturally black hair, but I can’t see blonde-haired or even light brown haired girls using the powders successfully. I’m fairly new to taking care of my brows, honestly. Until about a year ago, I’d never plucked a single hair from my eyebrow. Since this was so cheap and I’d heard good things about it, I decided to add it to my arsenal to perk up my brow grooming skills.

The tweezer is pretty useless; it’s too stubby and weak to really grip any hairs, at least not without a lot of pain and struggle. The brush is very stiff and I haven’t gotten the hang of using it without being incredibly obvious. Using it on the powders tends to kick up a lot of dust, also. The design of the case is pretty convenient; the tweezers and brush fit to the side of the wax and powders and a mirror slides out underneath for grooming on the go. It’s a nice touch.

The darker shade is actually a little too obvious on me, because I’m too heavy-handed and not very precise with my application. The lighter shade actually works a little bit better, but I honestly haven’t been using either much because my brows are still pretty much in the same shape they’ve always been and I don’t have spots to fill in. I mostly use the wax to keep my brows tamed and in place.

Overall, I give this an A.
I don’t recall the exact price I paid for this, especially since I got it during a sale and couponing trip, but as with all Wet n Wild products, I can’t imagine it being priced more than a couple of bucks. It’s an extremely affordable and conveniently designed brow kit, and I imagine even brow aficionados will enjoy using it.

Wet n Wild CoverAll liquid concealer wand
From wnwbeauty.com:

Creamy formula conceals and minimizes blemishes, discolored areas, fine lines, and other skin imperfections. Wand applicator blends easily for a flawless finish.

Okay, so I got a little overzealous in my pickings and I completely goofed. This shade is waaaaay too light for me. I don’t even know what I was thinking. Blame it on the fluorescent lights of Rite-Aid. I have the shade Fair.
I did try it out and it’s eh. Meh. It’s very creamy and blends very well, but despite being, like, 5 shades lighter than me, it couldn’t cover my dark circles or hyperpigmentation. It did cover redness well, though, so I suppose it’s good for acne spots.

Wet n Wild CoverAll liquid concealer wand in Fair
Swatch on left, blended out on right

As you can see in the right side of my hand, there’s a noticeable white cast and this is even after I blended it out like crazy. It’s weird. It blends away until it almost doesn’t cover, but then it’s still light enough to show up?

Overall, I give this a D.
The quality just isn’t there. It has a nice, creamy consistency that allows for easy blending, but it tends to disappear instead of cover. And really, that’s missing the whole point of a concealer.

Wet n Wild ColorIcon blusher
From wnwbeauty.com:

Sweep on this silky-smooth blush that strikes the perfect balance between a blendable transparent sheen and a radiant pop of maximum color. A special blend of treated nylon powders provides long-lasting color. Dermatologist-tested.

Stop the presses! You need this blush, NOW. If you love NARS, Rock and Republic, really any brand known for insanely pigmented blushes, this will definitely tickle your fancy and at a fraction of the price. I have the shade Berry Shimmer and I’m going to go back and get some more (my store only had Heather Silk and Berry Shimmer left in the display, but there are two other shades also). It’s a gorgeous warm berry with a hint of coral fire behind it. Really beautiful in person.

Wet n Wild ColorIcon blusher in Berry Shimmer

The compact includes a standard thin blush brush, but it’s really useless and mostly because the blush is not very firmly pressed. It kicks up a LOT of dust and even just a light swipe with my fluffy angled blush brush picks up WAY too much powder; the included brush is semi-stiff and as such, picks up enough product to do some serious clown cheeks. This is basically the only caveat of the product. It’s really, really insanely pigmented and the staying power is fantastic; my litmus test for most cosmetics is a standard shift waiting tables. If it can withstand the heat, the sweating, the running around, it’s something special. This, like my beloved Rock & Republic blushes, manages to stand the test.

Sheer application on left, swatch on right

That picture is semi-misleading; the swatch is pretty sheer because I furiously blended it out as a result of accidentally picking up too much product the first time. But as you can see, it’s got some excellent pigmentation no matter which way you cut it.

Overall, I give this an A+.
For such an inexpensive product, this is one of the serious drugstore beauty steals. It has pigmentation and staying power worthy of high-end department store cosmetics, but for around $5 apiece. It does tend to kick up a lot of dust, so use a light hand.

Wet n Wild MegaLength Mascara
From wnwbeauty.com:

85% of consumers saw length improvement. For lavishly long and perfectly defined lashes, this lengthening formula visibly lifts for clump-free, lash-by-lash definition. Ophthalmologist-tested. 

This is only available in one shade: Very Black. I was kinda confused by the mascara wand. It’s similar to some of the “comb” mascaras that were trendy in Japan; the kind that are barely more than grooves in the wand to apply mascara. It’s a plastic brush with stiff bristles, but it’s very slim and the bristles are spaced very far apart. It does manage to separate and define my lashes very well.

However, to get the “megalength” it promises, I have to keep stroking (not separate coats) and then my lashes tend to get weighed down and lose their curl. So it’s a slight trade-off. According to the Wet n Wild site, this won a Self award for best lengthening mascara, but I feel I’ve used better. Namely, the Maybelline Colossal Volum’Express I reviewed in an earlier post, which doesn’t promise to lengthen but does so better than this mascara. Still, it’s a solid mascara for natural, everyday lashes. It doesn’t clump or flake although I did have minor smudging at the end of the day.

My bare eye
My lashes, curled, with one coat of
Wet n Wild MegaLength mascara in Very Black

Overall, I give this product a B+.
It doesn’t deliver on the megalength for me, but it’s excellent at defining and separating the lashes. It wears well, although oily-lidded girls may see more raccooning. For just a couple of bucks, it’s an affordable try and you could do worse.

Hopefully you won’t see this many reviews crammed into a single post anymore! I’ve been sitting on a lot of these products for a while so I was trying to get them out of the way, and I hope the length of these posts doesn’t deter some of you from reading!

Still working on the giveaway — keep a lookout! 🙂

Leave a Reply

