FOTD / Foundation / MAC / Maybelline / Reviews

[review] Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse Foundation and Maleficent FOTD

‘ello ‘ello~ I’m back again. I’ve been considering switching this blog over to WordPress. I already reserved the name, but I haven’t played around with it yet. What do y’all think? Any other bloggers out there who can give me a bit of advice? I’ve heard WordPress is much more customizable.
Anyway, a few weeks ago, I picked up the new Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse foundation while it was on sale on Rite Aid. After the sale price and coupons, I paid $2 or $3 for this, but I think the normal retail price is around $7-$10.

From Maybelline.com:

Unique cream-whipped foundation provides 100% baby-smooth perfection.

  • Skin looks and feels hydrated for 14 hours – never rough or dry
  • Lightweight formula provides perfectly moisturizing coverage
  • Blends seamlessly and feels fresh all-day
  • Oil-free, Fragrance-free, Dermatologist Tested, Allergy Tested, Non-comedogenic – won’t clog pores.
  • Safe for sensitive skin
Swatched on left, blended out on right.

 I got the shade Natural Beige after a bit of waffling and it turned out to be a pretty good match for me.

The package, as you can see, is kinda odd. The foundation itself is in a separate weighty plastic bottom that screws to the rest of the case. The other side flips open to reveal a triangular sponge, and did not have a mirror which I felt was a glaring omission. The sponge is pretty good quality and soft; it’s very similar to the sponge that came in my Dior powder foundation.

This is actually not the right form of Maybelline Dream Smooth for me; because I have oily-combo skin, I should have chosen the Dream Matte Mousse foundation. However, I’m not a fan of anything matte and the name alone scared me off. Although this performs fairly well for me, in retrospect, I should’ve gone with the Matte formulation.
Moreover, this isn’t a mousse at all. This is more of a traditional cream foundation. It is slightly more liquid than my Urban Decay Surreal Skin Cream-to-Powder foundation, and as a result, it stays dewy instead of drying to a powder finish. I usually set with a powder, and if I don’t, I tend to get shiny in my T-zone very quickly.

The coverage itself is light-to-medium; it evens out my skin tone and is buildable, but does not completely cover my hyperpigmentation or undereye circles. If you normally use a concealer, you will need one with this foundation.

It wears fairly well, although I have noticed it fares better over a proper primer. I wore it over a Shiseido UV base and Hard Candy tinted moisturizer with good results; I got about 4-6 hours of wear. However, I tried it over the Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Liquid Sunblock one day and it melted off after about 2 hours. Admittedly, I was a bit heavy-handed with the sunscreen application that day, so YMMV.

Overall, I give this foundation a 7.
It’s very affordably priced and Maybelline often goes on sale in lots of places. It is not, in my opinion, a groundbreaking or particularly revolutionary foundation, but it’s a solid performer that I find myself reaching for a lot of days.

So, of course, with the recent MAC Venomous Villains release, you know I had to get some things. In the end, I only got one thing for myself, Malificent’s Mineralize Eyeshadow in She Who Dares, but I loooove it.

I love that even the inside of the box is decorated.

Swatched dry

In my current financial state, I can’t justify going back and getting My Dark Magic, but I wish I could. 😦 I won’t wax too much about the collection, but I was honestly a bit disappointed.
I loved Maleficent’s collection the most, but Cruella de Vil’s collection suited my coloring more. I was so underwhelmed by Dr. Facilier’s collection. The pigments I thought were nice and very appropriate, but it ended there for me. I did see The Princess and the Frog, more out of Disney and Southern duty than anything else, but I was disappointed by it. Even my boyfriend, who felt the same way about the movie but loved Dr. Facilier’s character, said about the collection, “This is all they did for him? It’s kinda boring…”
I mean, come on! He’s from New Orleans! Go all out! Man, if MAC ever came out with a Mardi Gras collection? Forget about it!

On another note, I honestly didn’t like the packaging very much. I felt if they had used the sketches from the box art on the actual packaging, it would’ve looked much nicer and classier. But hey, it’s still Disney. 🙂

So here’s an FOTD inspired by Maleficent and the story of Sleeping Beauty.

Products used:
Eyes:
MAC Mineralize Eyeshadow in She Who Dares
Urban Decay eyeshadow in Maui Wowie, Last Call and Virgin
L’Oreal HIP Color Chrome eyeliner in Violet Volt and Gold Charge
Maybelline The Colossal Volum’Express Waterproof in Classic Black

Face:
Hard Candy tinted moisturizer in Tan
Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse in Natural Beige
NARS The Multiple Stick in Malibu
Lavshuca loose powder in Lucent
Too Faced Absolutely Invisible Candlelight powder

Lips:
Shiseido Rouge Unlimited in WN 255
NYX Round lipgloss in Amethyst

The Mineralize eyeshadow performed the best, in my opinion, over moisturizer. I tried it over UDPP and NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Black Bean, and regular wet application, but the most intense and true color application came when I applied it over moisturizer. I dabbed a bit of LUSH Dream Cream on my eyelids, because it tends to stay tackier longer than my other moisturizers. It really made the colors pop and look lush and vibrant. I tightlined with Violet Volt and lined my waterline with Gold Charge. Speaking of Mardi Gras, this seems like an appropriate look, don’t you agree? 🙂

You can see a spot of hyperpigmentation on my forehead that the foundation didn’t completely cover. But overall, it’s a very nice finish.

Did you get anything from MAC Venomous Villains? Have you used Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse foundation? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “[review] Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse Foundation and Maleficent FOTD

  1. Super pretty FOTD! 🙂 All I bought from that MAC collection were the Bite Of An Apple blushes. And I've heard good things about that Maybelline line but haven't tried it yet. Thanks for entering my giveaway….good luck!!

Leave a Reply

