Eyeshadow / Lipstick / MAC

MAC A Tartan Tale pre-release

I went to the MAC A Tartan Tale pre-release party last night. It was my first time going to such an event; I prepared myself for a crowd, but I really underestimated the amount of people in there last night! My MAC store is fairly small to begin with, and everyone was packed cheek-to-jowl, wrestling over the displays. They served Scottish-theme snacks, like Highland shortbread dipped in dark chocolate, and had bourbon (? why not scotch?) lemonade cocktails to enjoy.

A Tartan Tale promo book and the cute bag they put our products in!

In the end, I only bought two items: the eyeshadow in Semi-Precious and lipstick in Cut A Caper. I wish I had had more time to mull over the products, but there really were just too many people, plus the store was burning up (the mall controls their AC and they couldn’t lower it) so I just tried to get out of there as quickly as possible.
I got home, however, and tried Cut A Caper on my lips and it looks really awful. D: Like, milky-nude peach pink. It totally washes me out and makes me look like a ganguro or something. Mike thinks it looks OK on me, so I will hold on to it for a while and try to make it work, but I think I will end up returning it and exchanging it for the Glamora Castle eyeshadow. I was waffling between those two, anyway.

Cut A Caper lipstick and Semi-Precious eyeshadow
Cut A Caper lipstick; no swatch, sorry!

Semi-Precious eyeshadow

Swatched on left, sheer application on right

The grey stripes aren’t just an overspray, but it’s too soon to say if they go through the entire eyeshadow or not. It can look a little bruise-like alone, so I’ll need to work out a good way to incorporate this into a look.

Did anyone else go to the pre-release? What did you get?

Leave a Reply

