Brushes / Reviews / Shiseido

Shiseido Perfect Foundation Brush Review

I don’t have a very big brush collection. Up until fairly recently, in fact, I didn’t even know what half of certain brushes did. (I’m still not really sure what a fan brush is for, except to look utterly ridiculous.)

And when it came to foundation, I was pretty much a fingers-only girl. I’d tried several different brushes and all manner of sponges, but didn’t like how they either soaked up too much foundation or left a weird, uneven finish that left me blending for my life for hours. Then I found the Shiseido Perfect Foundation brush.

Shiseido Perfect Refining Brush

Now, Shiseido is a cosmetics powerhouse in Asia. They have dozens upon dozens of sub-brands, as well as a Shiseido drugstore brand (not to be confused with drugstore brands under Shiseido, such as Za or Majolica Majorca) and a Shiseido counter brand. This brush was actually an extraordinarily popular drugstore option before the counter Shiseido released it. (Got that? It’s basically a high-end dupe of a drugstore product!)

For outside of Asia purchases, you can find the drugstore option on Asian cosmetics sites such as Adambeauty, but it’s not significantly cheaper (usually around $27) than the counter version, and anyway, we in the US are now able to pick it up at the Shiseido counter. Although I obviously can’t say for certain, I’ve heard that both brushes are exactly the same. I’m thinking of picking up the drugstore version just to play with and to have one for powders, and the other for liquids/creams.

Shiseido Perfect Foundation Brush bristle macro

As you can see from the above macro shot, the bristles are cut on a soft angle. (Sorry for the gross bits of lint! I rather hastily cleaned it for the photo…) This allows you to maneuver the brush into hard to reach areas like the sides of your nose, under your eyes, etc. It’s extremely dense and firm, while remaining soft enough to blend out harsh lines. The included instructions show the recommended areas of coverage for the brush.

Shiseido Perfect Foundation Brush instructions

It’s actually not as big as you might think. The whole brush can fit in the palm of my hand. This makes it great for travel, but it’s also the perfect size to allow you to maneuver the brush easily. (Travel-size brushes are usually too stubby for me, and full-size brushes can suffer from a too-long handle.)
Even the streakiest, grodiest foundations go on effortlessly with this brush. It provides medium-to-full coverage, while leaving an airbrushed and flawless look. The best part is, the foundation doesn’t sink into the bristles, so compared to using my fingers, I can get away with the same amount of foundation and not waste any. Seriously, I can’t rave about this brush enough. I want to buy a dozen of them, just in case they ever discontinue it (but they wouldn’t dare!)

I found the below video, with a Shiseido makeup artist showing how to use the brush along with another one of my favorites, the Shiseido Perfect Refining Foundation. It’s in Japanese, of course, and has Chinese subtitles as the video was created for the Hong Kong market, but even without the benefit of understanding the language, it’s easy enough to follow along. The included instructions recommend pouring foundation into the palm of the hand and picking it up with the brush; however, as you can see in the video, the Shiseido makeup artist applies it straight to full coverage areas and blends out (not that the model in the video even needs foundation wtf amirite). Honestly, both methods work great. It’s so hard to go wrong with this brush.

Have I raved enough? Are you convinced yet? GO BUY THIS BRUSH, NOW.

Shiseido Perfect Foundation Brush is available for $30.

Disclaimer: I purchased the product(s) featured in this post. All opinions are my own.
Leave a Reply

