EOTD

EOTD – Eye of the Tiger (LSU themed look)

EOTD - Eye of the Tiger (LSU-themed)

It’s the eye of the tiger~

I’m so not a football fan. I’m not really into sports in general.

But I live in Baton Rouge, where LSU football is basically a religion. It’s true — people like to joke about it, but I think it’s more accurate than they realize. After all, Christmas is celebrated by even the irreligious or non-Christian. Why? It’s about celebrating the culture, and the season; it’s about being with friends and family, and enjoying a holiday together. If you DON’T celebrate it, it’s either because you’ve got something else going on, or you’re just a curmudgeon who hates fun.
Well, LSU football is basically the same thing, except instead of once a year, it’s lots of Saturdays in the fall season!

Even if you don’t care for the game, it’s an excuse to hang out, eat good food and have fun.

Plus, it certainly helps that LSU is my alma mater, and its school colors, purple and gold, are two of my favorites.

EOTD - Eye of the Tiger (LSU-themed)

…It’s the thrill of the fight!

This is my go-to LSU-themed eye look for games. It’s pretty bold in person, but given some of the other things people wear and put on for gamedays, it’s not that outrageous!

I have to apologize for my skin these pictures, though. As we were only going to a friend’s house to watch the game, I didn’t really do a full face for this; I only put on some Shu Uemura UV base for sun protection. So, you can see my uneven skin tone and bumps and pores! The horror! Just focus on the shiny eyeshadow, please. 🙂

EOTD - Eye of the Tiger (LSU-themed)

Risin’ up to the challenge of our rival…

This is a pretty simple look, but it does require a bit of prepping to get the colors to pop like they do. Here are the steps:

1) Start with an eye primer. (I used Urban Decay Primer Potion.)
2) Take a purple cream shadow and apply from the middle of the lid to the outer corner. (I used Maybelline Eye Studio Color Tattoo in Painted Purple.)
3) Take a white cream shadow and apply starting from the inner eyelid and up above the purple shade, creating a rounded shape following the natural shape of your eye socket. (I used NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk.)
4) With a small eyeshadow brush, pat on a bright purple eyeshadow over the purple cream shadow. (I used Urban Decay Flash.)
4) Then pat on a metallic gold eyeshadow over the white cream shadow, gently blending into the purple. Gentle blend out any harsh edges. (I used Urban Decay Half-Baked.)
5) Using a fluffy brush, sweep on a champagne gold highlight on your browbone. (I used Too Faced Pin-up.)
6) Apply black eyeliner, and wing out at the end. (I used Kiss Me Heroine Make Smooth Liquid Eyeliner N in Jet Black.)
7) Apply a purple eyeliner over the black eyeliner, stopping it just before the wing. (I used Urban Decay Liquid Liner in Ecstasy [vintage inkwell formula]).
8) Line your waterline with a bright gold eyeliner. (I used L’Oreal HIP Chrome eyeliner in Gold Charge.)
9) Curl lashes and apply mascara. (I used Shu Uemura eyelash curler and Dior Diorshow Iconic in Noir.)

For Mardi Gras last year, I did a very similar look, but I used an emerald green eyeliner (like Urban Decay Graffiti) instead to complete the color scheme.

And a bonus success story! A few days ago, I decided I was going to conquer the mythical beast known as false eyelashes. I’ve never been able to properly apply false lashes before, so I kinda just gave up after awhile. But my own natural lashes are so short and stubby, even with mascara, that I finally bit the bullet, bought a pair of “trial” lashes and went to town.
Well, after lots of smeared glue and frustration, I finally got it! They look quite nice! The feeling takes a bit of getting used to, feels rather like I have fluttery caterpillars on my eyelids, but it makes my eyes look much bigger.

Here’re some pictures I took of me after we came home, so the makeup’s a bit faded, but I’m super proud of my accomplishment!

EOTD - Eye of the Tiger (LSU-themed)

My mascara flaked a bit. I never have any luck with Dior mascaras!

EOTD - Eye of the Tiger (LSU-themed)

Lookin’ smug cause I conquered dem lashes.

I’m wearing Ardell 110s, which are super long but not overly dramatic. However, it’s definitely not a very natural look. I think next time I’ll choose a pair with shorter lashes.

What are some of your favorite lashes? I am really interested in Holika Holika lashes thanks to Jen at From Head to Toe, and Jealousness lashes because of Phyllis from Makeup For Life!

Leave a Reply

