Bodycare / Boscia / Bronzer / Cruelty-free / Haul / Lip Gloss / Skincare / The Body Shop / Too Faced / Vegan

Black Friday Hauls Part 1!

I did some serious damage this Black Friday. We hit up the mall at midnight Thanksgiving night and I got some great deals! Although I did treat myself here and there (and there… and there…) most of my buys were for gifts.

On that note though, I felt so morally conflicted going to the mall at midnight. As someone who spent 7 years working in the service industry, including retail, I hate that Black Friday has crept into Black Week, basically, and especially that it’s encroached on Thanksgiving which has traditionally been one of the few holidays which mall workers and such have off. I do, however, enjoy all the Internet deals. 😉

I did buy quite a few things online, which I’ll post as they come in.
To assuage my moral reservations, I did buy solely cruelty-free products, though! 😛

Too Faced The Triple Threat set

Too Faced The Triple Threat set

I picked up this Too Faced The Triple Threat set for myself at ULTA. It had smaller sizes of Primed and Poreless face primer and Chocolate Soleil bronzing powder, and a full-sized Glamour Gloss in Pillow Talk.

Too Faced The Triple Threat set

Too Faced The Triple Threat set. Please note the bronzer is very washed out in this shot. See below for a more accurate shade representation.

The size are very generous. The face primer is 0.50 oz., compared to the full-sized which is 1.0 oz. for $30. The bronzing powder is 0.14 oz versus 0.34oz for $29 in the full-sized. Plus, you get the full-sized gloss which normally sells for $19. The set was only $18 on sale.

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer from The Triple Threat set

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer from The Triple Threat set

I was most excited for the bronzer. It has a faint chocolate scent, which is pretty delicious. It looks much darker on the box and on the Too Faced site than it is in person. I think it will be a great shade for my skintone. However, the box claims the products are “perfect for all skin tones” and I would handily disagree with this. People with darker-medium skin and on would not benefit from the bronzer, in my opinion, and it may be too dark if you’re very pale.

Too Faced Glamour Gloss in Pillow Talk

Too Faced Glamour Gloss in Pillow Talk

Pillow Talk is described as “mauve shimmer” on the Too Faced site. I would describe it as a pinky-brown nude with sparkle. The Glamour Glosses are plumping glosses, so they tingle when applied and smell faintly of sweet vanilla cake. They are lightly sticky, but have good shine and wear.

Too Faced Prime & Poreless face primer from The Triple Threat set

Too Faced Prime & Poreless face primer from The Triple Threat set

Primed and Poreless is a pretty standard silicone-based primer which does a great job of filling in and minimizing fine lines and pores. It creates a nice smooth base for makeup to glide onto, and when I tested it yesterday, it kept my foundation looking fresh for over 6 hours. Although silicones are non-comedogenic, be sure to apply on a clean face or they may trap bacteria and other irritating ingredients close to your pores.

Too Faced Glamour Gloss in Pillow Talk and Primed & Poreless face primer swatches

Too Faced Glamour Gloss in Pillow Talk and Primed & Poreless face primer swatches

I also went to The Body Shop which was having a 3 for $30 promotion. This was maybe one of the best deals I saw all Black Friday this year, as some of their skincare can retail for almost $30 a piece normally.

The Body Shop Almond Body Butter and Vitamin C Daily Moisturizer with SPF 30

The Body Shop Almond Body Butter and Vitamin C Daily Moisturizer with SPF 30

I picked up two of the Vitamin C Daily Moisturizer with SPF 30, one for myself, and one for my mom. I really like using products with vitamin C in the daytime to help fade my dark spots, and also because vitamin C can help boost your sunscreen’s efficacy. This normally sells for $20, so it was like I got it for half off. So far, I really like it. It’s moisturizing without being heavy, and smells like fresh oranges.
It tingles when it’s applied, so I would not recommend it for people with sensitive skin, however.
I also chose their Almond body butter as you all know how much I love almond-scented anything. The Body Shop’s body butters are very lightweight but deeply moisturizing. I can use them even in the summer time. This normally sells for $19.

The next day, I went back and popped by Sephora which was not open at midnight the night before. They had some of their online $10 deals in store, so I picked up this Boscia Be Brilliant mini set. I was originally going to use this as a stocking stuffer, but the $10 is part of the printed package and not a sticker, so I decided to keep it for myself. 😛

Boscia Be Brilliant Black Friday Set

Boscia Be Brilliant Black Friday Set

I really like the Boscia blotting linens, and this came with a pack of 25. The blotting linens are normally 100 for $10. It also came with sample-sizes, really, of the Luminizing Black Mask, Purifying Cleansing Gel and Oil-Free Nightly Hydration.

Boscia Be Brilliant Black Friday Set

Boscia Be Brilliant Black Friday Set

However, if you look closely at that second picture, you’ll see the Oil-Free Nightly Hydration has a sticker over the label. Of course I peeled it off, to reveal… this:

Boscia Ultra-Pure Oil-Free Moisture?

Boscia Ultra-Pure Oil-Free Moisture?

I’m admittedly not familiar with Boscia’s products, so it would seem they relabeled their Ultra-Pure Oil-Free Moisture but again, no idea if this was discontinued or they put it in the wrong tubes… or what.
I’ve already used the Luminizing Black Mask once, and I was really impressed! It really did brighten my skin up. However, I think I may get one or two more uses out of the tube if I’m lucky.
The Purifying Cleansing Gel was a refreshing foaming cleanser which was gentle but strong enough to take off my face of makeup. It could not, however, remove my waterproof mascara and it did leave my skin feeling a little tight.
The Oil-Free Nightly Hydration/Ultra-Pure Oil-Free Moisture was lightweight and quick-absorbing, but not enough moisture for my winter skin. It may be enough for me in the summer time when I’m oilier. I’m using it as an eye cream right now because of how quickly it sinks in.

I was a little disappointed in this set as I thought the blotting linens were full-sized (that was my fault, though, as the box did state the size), and the other products were much smaller than I envisioned. However, for only $10 it was a good way for me to try out some of Boscia’s products, which I’ve never used before except their blotting linens.

I also went by Gameware, a local video game store, and Best Buy and got some other stuff for myself. Again, though, the majority of my damage came from gifts for other people. What about you? What did you haul from Black Friday this year? 🙂

Leave a Reply

