Cruelty-free / Lipstick / Reviews / Wet n Wild

Wet n Wild MegaLast Lipstick in 911D Stoplight Red Review, Swatches, Pictures

Wet n Wild MegaLast Lipstick in 911D Stoplight Red

Wet n Wild MegaLast Lipstick in 911D Stoplight Red

Do you ever get worked up into a frenzy about a product you never really expected to like? I normally shy away from matte lipsticks because my lips are so dry already, they don’t need anything sucking the life out of them. And bright lipsticks drown out my face, so I tend to prefer sheer shades, nudes and my-lips-but-better shades.

So I’m not sure what possessed me to pick up this Wet n Wild MegaLast lipstick in 911D Stoplight Red on my last excursion out. Lord knows it wasn’t the packaging, which is thoroughly utilitarian if a little impractical (the lipstick cannot be retracted fully into the tube, so it’s possible to nick it when removing/replacing the cap).

Wet n Wild promises “4-hour, longwearing lip color” that “leaves a semi-matte, crème finish in one stroke.” I’ve found all of those claims to be true.

Stoplight Red is a gorgeous true red, that doesn’t lean too warm or too cool. Please be aware that although I tried to color-correct my photos as much as possible, it does read more warm in the pictures than it does in real life.

Wet n Wild MegaLast Lipstick in 911D Stoplight Red Swatch

Swatch on back of my hand

I really think this is a red that would look good on a lot of skin tones, especially since I have such a hard time finding a red I like on me personally! I’ve heard this is a dupe for MAC Ruby Woo, but I don’t have that, so I can’t compare.

Wet n Wild MegaLast Lipstick in 911D Stoplight Red Swatch on Lips

On my lips. I exfoliated and prepped with lip balm, but it still accentuates dry areas.

Application straight out of the tube is more precise than you might expect from the large surface area, but you may wish to use a lip brush regardless. It does leave a semi-matte, creme finish but if you blot once, it becomes totally matte without losing any vibrancy or pigmentation. Although it is long-wearing, it is not transfer-proof. This shade in particular lightly stains my lips so that it fades evenly.

The matte finish does, as expected, accentuate any dry areas so make sure to exfoliate lips well and prep with lip balm before applying. I was impressed that, even after four hours, my lips were not parched but comfortable.

I did have small issues with feathering and bleeding when applied straight, but who doesn’t with a red lipstick? Using a red lipliner to line my lips as well as a clear one to outline really helped lock it in, though.

I’m pretty obsessed now, and I never thought I’d feel that way about a matte lipstick, let alone a red one!
Overall, for around $2-3, I think this is one lipstick that really can’t be beat and I’m itching to go back to the store to pick up 2 or 10 more!

Disclosure: I purchased the product(s) featured in this post. All opinions are my own.
One thought on “Wet n Wild MegaLast Lipstick in 911D Stoplight Red Review, Swatches, Pictures

  1. Pingback: Milani Lip Flash Pencil in Hot Flash Review, Swatches, PicturesBubble Tea Panda

Leave a Reply

