EOTD / FOTD / Tidbits

EOTD/FOTD – BAMF! + New Orleans Wizard World Comic-Con Fangirling

So, on Saturday, I went to New Orleans for Wizard World’s Comic-Con. There were a lot of celebrities in attendance, such as most of the cast of Star Trek: TNG (Patrick Stewart was scheduled, but cancelled due to work deadlines), Sean Patrick Flanery, Kevin Sorbo, Adrienne Curry and The Walking Dead castmembers Norman Reedus (Daryl), Michael Rooker (Merle) and Jon Bernthal (Shane). Yaya Han, queen of cosplay, also had a booth and was in attendance, judging the cosplay contest and hosting Q&A panels.

Normally, I would have made a cosplay for the con, but with working my full-time job and a part-time internship, as well as doing my Masters program, I just didn’t have the time. So I thought I’d try to do a fun superhero-inspired look for the day of the convention. I thought a teal-and-gold would be bright, fun and reminiscent of old-school comic book cheesy spandex and lame uniforms. 😀

EOTD/FOTD - BAMF!

EOTD/FOTD – BAMF!

BAMF is an onomatopoeic sound originating from Nightcrawler from X-Men. The sound was used every time he teleported away, and it kind of became notorious for being just an utterly silly sound. I thought it was appropriate for this look. 🙂

EOTD/FOTD - BAMF!

It looks uneven in this shot because of my crazy eyelids.

In retrospect, there were certain things I would have changed about this look. For starters, I would have smoked it out a bit more, maybe brought the teal and gold higher. However, for what amounted to 5 minutes of staring at my vanity before jumping in, I thought it was OK. We were running late so I just ran with it, so it’s not as crisp as I would like and my lashes dried a bit wonky. All the eyeshadow shades are from Urban Decay’s 15th Anniversary palette.

EOTD/FOTD - BAMF!

Eyes open

EOTD/FOTD - BAMF!

Eyes closed

Products used:

Eyes:
Urban Decay Primer Potion in Original
Urban Decay eyeshadow in Deep End
Urban Decay eyeshadow in Blackout
Urban Decay eyeshadow in Deeper
Urban Decay eyeshadow in Ace
Urban Decay eyeshadow in Vanilla
Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner in Perversion
Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner in Baked
Holika Holika lashes in 06

Face:
Too Face Primed and Poreless face primer
Urban Decay Naked foundation in 6.0
Dior Diorskin Forever compact in 033 Apricot Beige
Urban Decay 24/7 concealer in CIA
Too Faced Chocolate Soleil bronzer
Too Faced Absolutely Invisible candlelight pressed powder
Wet n Wild Color Icon blush in Berry Shimmer

Lips:
Fresh Sugar Rose Lip Treatment
Urban Decay lipstick in Pistol

EOTD/FOTD - BAMF!

Full face

I’m still a little on the fence about the Etude House strawberry hair rollers I got recently, but here’s what my hair looked like after sleeping with them in. I may do a video review for this one because of their nature, but I’m rather camera-shy so we’ll see. 🙂

EOTD/FOTD - BAMF!

Curls after sleeping with the Etude House strawberry sponge rollers

And here’s a close-up of the shirt I wore… my best friend Maggie got me this for my birthday this year.

EOTD/FOTD - BAMF!

My shirt

And finally, some pretty awful shots of me with two very cool people.

Me with Yaya Han as Powergirl!

Me with Yaya Han as Powergirl! I’m so starstuck, haha.

My boyfriend and I with Norman Reedus

My boyfriend and I with Norman Reedus

I had a great time and wish I didn’t have to work the next day so I could have spent more time there. I’m looking forward to my next con, whatever that’ll be, but I definitely want to make a cosplay for it!

One thought on “EOTD/FOTD – BAMF! + New Orleans Wizard World Comic-Con Fangirling

  1. I found your post looking for some reviews of these little strawberry rollers, and it ended with Daryl’s face. ❤
    Thank you for that. haha

Leave a Reply

