Blush / Haul / Reviews / Revlon

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef Review, Swatches, Picture

Here we are in the dead of winter, and I choose a coral blush to buy. Specifically, the Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef. Well, I justify this for two reasons: 1) the weather’s been in the mid 70s every day for the last two weeks and 2) it was 75% off. Frankly, it would have been irresponsible of me not to buy it. (Right? Someone back me up here.)

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef

Anyway, look at how pretty it is… so bright and inviting. I could almost hear it calling out on the shelf, “Buy me, Seymour...” (For the uninformed: this is a purposely mangled Little Pet Shop of Horrors reference. Never one of my favorites per se, but growing up named Audrey, you don’t forget that movie.)

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef

I’ve been getting into cream blushes in a big way lately. I have more cream formulas now than powder, I think. I really like the way they apply, and how natural they can look.

The shade itself is a vibrant orange-red coral. Swatched, it leans a bit pinker on my skin. Despite the mild weather, it has been a bit rainy lately and this cheers me up when I look at it. C’mon. How can you not be happy with an orange-y coral blush?

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef

Sheer application on top, heavy swatch on bottom

This normally retails for $12.99, which is pricey for the drugstore, and a blush at that. However, I think if you put a prestige brand name on it, this would be a blush you’d pay upwards of $25 for at Sephora. It’s creamy, pigmented, blends effortlessly and has great staying power. Plus, the size is very generous; you get 0.44 oz in the hefty plastic jar.
The shade is relatively unique for a drugstore blush, which usually stay on the safer side of neutral peaches and berries, with maybe a bright apple red in a crazy collection or two. Unfortunately, the shade selection is rather small, with only three core shades in the PhotoReady cream formula.

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef

Directions and ingredients

On bare skin (no primer, foundation or setting powder/spray), it lasted around 3-4 hours for me. Considering how oily my skin is, and that it’s a cream formula, this is pretty impressive. When I layered it over a full face (i.e., primer and foundation, then set with powder) it lasted 8 hours, although it did lose a bit of its punch and vibrancy around 6 hours in.

It applied as easily with my fingers as it did with a stippling brush, although I felt the finger application yielded a sheerer result and required building. So don’t be afraid of ending up looking like Mimi; it’s easy to get a sheer flush or build for more impact.

Mimi from The Drew Carey Show

No Mimi cheeks here! Click for image credit.

Of course, being that it’s part of the PhotoReady line, this blush is supposedly specifically engineered to enhance the look of your skin in a photoshoot. Here is a shot of me with only Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream in #27 Honey Beige on my skin, and the Revlon blush on my cheeks. Not bad, I think.

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef

Wearing Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef on my cheeks

Remember, right now, the CVS beauty clearance sale is going on and this blush is 75% off regular retail price. After discounts, I paid just over $3 for it, which is a steal. If you have a CVS coupon and/or manufacturer’s coupon, you can stack them and get it for even lower.
Please check out G’s master list of all the items in the CVS beauty clearance sale for specific brands, collections and shades, and remember, she updates it constantly, so check back occasionally!

Have you tried this blush? What do you think about it?

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush is available in mass market retailers for $12.99.

Disclosure: The product(s) featured in the post were purchased by me. All opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in 300 Coral Reef Review, Swatches, Picture

  1. Pingback: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous Review, Swatches, Pictures | Bubble Tea Panda

Leave a Reply

