Haul / Lip Stain / Reviews / Revlon

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous Review, Swatches, Pictures

I think I was on an orange and nude high when I was at CVS the other day. I got two orange-coral shades (this Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain and the Revlon PhotoReady cream blush I reviewed the other day) and two nude shades (the Revlon Lip Butter in Cremesicle and Color Burst Lip Gloss in Bellini, to be swatched and reviewed soon).

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous

I have the Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Charm, and I liked the formula and finish, so I wanted another to add to my already ponderous lip product collection. (Obvs.) Orange lips were a big trend a year or two ago, but I’ve never pretended to be on the cutting edge…

The Just Bitten line are minty-scented though unflavored, and they claim to be a lip stain that moisturizes like a balm. Although they’re certainly not drying, I don’t feel that they’re very moisturizing although they do have a thick balm-like feeling on the lips. If you have very dry lips, I wouldn’t suggest relying on this for your moisturizing needs but it’ll get you through the day without a separate lip balm.

These should not be confused with the Revlon Just Bitten Lipstain + Balm, which are a more traditional lip stain formula (with marker tip) and separate end with a clear balm to protect and moisturize. How confusing can you get, right?

These are much more like the Clinique Chubby Sticks or Tarte lipSurgence lip balms. They twist up and don’t require any sharpening, although depending on how you apply them, you might lose that precise pencil point after a while. My other JBKBS (it’s even a long acronym) is a sad nub of its former pointy self at this point.

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous

The shade Rendezvous is a bright juicy orange. It applies true to the color in the tube, but is sheerer than you might expect. On lips it feels like a moisturizing lipstick or tinted balm than a stain. The JBKBS in general last around 2 hours on me, so not long and they don’t stain my lips at all. In that respect, they fail their name and claims.

That being said, I still enjoy the shade selection, ease of use and formula. The minty scent gives lips a gentle plumping effect and they leave a lightly glossy finish. Plus, although this is a super bright orange, it isn’t as intensely pigmented as, say, the Urban Decay Super Saturated lip pencils so it’s much more wearable.

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous

Swatch

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous

One coat on exfoliated but bare lips

Yes, I’m aware that the inside of my forearm and my face are vastly different skintones. That’s not a lighting issue — my skin is actually that wonk in real life. My mom always jokes that if I were to get axe-murdered, the cops would think it was multiple bodies. (Typing it out, I realize how morbid that is. My mom is awesome.) On that note, that’s why I struggled for so many years finding a foundation match. There’s no. way. I could ever match a foundation to my face if I swatched it on my wrist. Those pull-out cards they have at the drugstores are eminently useless unless I can get them up to my cheek.

Another thing I like about these chubby pencils are they’re great for slipping into a clutch for on the go, and the twist-up nature means you don’t have to worry about carrying a sharpener and it allows you more precision than a traditional lipstick bullet might.
They’re reasonably priced, although on the higher end of a drugstore product at around $9 each normally.

Overall, I’m a big fan of these and I would definitely repurchase. But I should probably stop and take a look at my lip products drawer before I do that, and remember that I only have one face. (Should I? Maybe. Will I? Nah.)

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains are available in mass market retailers for $8.99.

Disclosure: All product(s) featured in this post were purchased by me. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

