Cruelty-free / Eyeliner / Lipstick / LUSH / Reviews / Swatches / Vegan

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe and Dynamic – Review, Swatches, Pictures

As I’ve already said before, I used to work for LUSH a few years ago. People would see “fresh handmade cosmetics” and come in and ask, “Oh, is this like makeup?” and we’d have to go into our spiel about how no, it’s not makeup but skincare, haircare and body products. Well, not too long after I left, I heard rumblings of LUSH finally entering the makeup world for good and soon after came the LUSH Emotional Brilliance collection.

LUSH Emotional Brilliance

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe and Dynamic

The idea behind the collection is to wear colors that express your emotion for the day, or emotions which you want to be feeling. So, for example, if I’m feeling driven that day, I’d choose the color Drive. Or if I’m not feeling very ambitious, but I’d like to, I’d slap on some Ambition.

I applaud their innovative way of thinking, but unfortunately, I think it rather failed in that most people are (naturally) going to choose colors they like and which look good on them rather than necessarily “emotions.” At least, that was what I did.

The LUSH Emotional Brilliance line includes liquid lipsticks, eyeliners, eyeshadows and mascara. They are all packaged in the same little apothecary style glass bottles which are quite cute, but honestly very impractical for daily use or travel. I love the little tags which make me think of Alice in Wonderland.

The colors I ended up choosing are Believe (liquid lipstick) and Dynamic (eyeliner).

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe

Believe is described as “raspberry ice-cream pink.” I actually think that’s rather spot on, though in some lighting, it leans more strawberry than raspberry to me. It’s got excellent pigmentation and glide on the lips — in fact, the liquid lipstick bases are actually the same formulation as Ultrabalm, so if you love Ultrabalm as a lip balm already, you’ll love the feel of the lipsticks. (These can also supposedly be used as blushes, though I haven’t tried yet.)

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe

The included doe-foot applicator is a mess to use with the pigmentation of the product and I usually end up applying it with the doe-foot and then using a lip brush to smooth it out. This is inconvenient but necessary because there is a stopper in the bottle which prevents one from dipping a lip brush in. Rather annoying and I foresee myself taking a blowtorch to it later to get the stopper out. (Kidding. Kinda.)
It can look rather uneven on lips at first, so start with a thin layer and blend out. After a minute or so, after the lipstick base warms up to body temperature, the color ends up hugging lips in a very flattering and natural way. It was not transfer-proof, but this color did stain my lips so it had nice wear time. However, it could not last through a coffee break with a friend. Unfortunately, the packaging and applicator make it very inconvenient to tote around for touch-ups.

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe


LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe

One side note… I’ve noticed in other reviews that the doe-foot applicator appears to be attached to the top/lid. On mine, it was not attached and did not seem like it ever was (i.e., there was no evidence of loosened glue or anything like that). It would make a lot more sense for it to be so, but it appears mine had a minor packaging defect. Just a note.

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Dynamic

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Dynamic

Dynamic is described as “sheer, warm peach.” Again, this is rather spot on. It’s a golden peach with very warm undertones that has lots of shimmer and requires layering if you want it to pop. It’s really more of an eye brightening shade than an eyeliner, per se, and this is what I use it for — I lightly line my waterline and inner corner with this shade to make my eyes appear more awake and rested. The shimmer more than anything else shows up, and I could see this color working for a lot of complexions, even if warmer shades aren’t normally your thing!

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Dynamic

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Dynamic


LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Dynamic

LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Dynamic

Originally, I was very disappointed in this shade because I wanted it to look like it does in the bottle. However, after realizing it was meant to be a sheer eye-brightening shade, I’ve come to enjoy it a lot more for just swiping on and running errands.

However, again, the packaging and stopper are problems here. The brush (which is attached to the lid this time!) doesn’t extend to the bottom of the bottle, and the stopper makes it so I can’t use my own brush. I’m really going to have to figure out a way to get that stopper out…

The price was also an ouch factor for me. I picked these up during LUSH’s annual year-end sale which is usually a BOGO or BOGO1/2 off or something similar. They are $18.95 each normally, and so I got two for the price of one. Honestly, I don’t think they’re worth full price, especially considering the pains I’m going to have to take later on to get the remnants of it out. Also, like all LUSH products, they have an expiration date and I definitely will not have gone through these before then.

I really do love both of the shades. They work great with my skintone, and the quality is nice. However, I think this will be my only foray into the LUSH Emotional Brilliance collection, unfortunately. Both of these shades are vegan, which not all LUSH products are; however, all LUSH products are cruelty-free.

Price: $18.95
Where to buy: LUSHUSA.com or your local LUSH store
Would I repurchase?: No. The regular non-sale price is rather steep I think, especially considering the packaging flaws.

2 thoughts on “LUSH Emotional Brilliance in Believe and Dynamic – Review, Swatches, Pictures

    • Hi Bella! It was not great on the waterline for me — I had better luck when I applied a very thin layer, smudged it out and let dry, then applied another layer on top and repeat. I have very watery eyes though, so if you don’t, you may fare better! However, it works great on my lower lash line. Hope that helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

