Cruelty-free / Eyeliner / Foundation / Haircare / Haul / L'oreal / Makeup Brushes / Sephora / tokidoki / Urban Decay

Sephora and Ulta Haul

I’m a bit backed up on reviews, and you can blame that on school! I’m in my second to last quarter of my Masters program, so things are rather busy, but I’m trying to stick with my resolution of 3 posts a week! Anyway, just wanted to show off my small Sephora and Ulta haul today.

So I went by the mall today to exchange a Christmas present from my uncle. I feel awful exchanging/returning gifts, but he gave me the receipt so I felt OK in this case 😛 Luckily, even though my mall has a standalone Sephora, there was also one in the JC Penney so with my store credit I had a little bit of fun there. I have to admit, the selection is not as big but it was a much nicer experience than the big Sephora. It wasn’t nearly as crowded, and the girls working were so much more fun — when I go into the other Sephora, I feel like there’s a big cloud hanging over everyone. 😛

Sephora and Ulta Haul

Sephora and Ulta Haul



If you follow me on Twitter, you know I accidentally shattered my Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation a week or two ago. I was rather upset about that as I’d only just recently bought it, and there was quite a lot of foundation left. So I replaced that, but I decided to go one shade darker from 6.0 to 7.0 this time.

Sephora Haul: Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation in 7.0

Sephora Haul: Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation in 7.0

The differences are almost imperceptible, but I think 7.0 might be a better match for me. If I can find the remnants of my salvaged 6.0 foundation (I poured it into an old LUSH pot but now I’ve misplaced that among my LUSH pot graveyard), I will do a swatch comparison later on.

Sephora Haul: Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation in 7.0, Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner in Perversion

Sephora Haul: Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation in 7.0, Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner in Perversion


I also needed more black liner, so I picked up Perversion which is my favorite black pencil liner. I love almost all of the UD 24/7 line, in fact.

Sephora Haul: tokidoki Pittura Brush set

Sephora Haul: tokidoki Pittura Brush set

Then, just to round out the last bit of the gift card, I picked up the tokidoki Pittura brush set. I regret not indulging more in the tokidoki line while they were at Sephora but luckily there were still lots of clearance items left. This was marked down to $14; I can’t seem to find the original price anymore, but IIRC, they were around $36 or $39 originally.

Sephora Haul: tokidoki Pittura Brush set

Sephora Haul: tokidoki Pittura Brush set

The set comes with Adios (crease brush), Mozzarella (eyeshadow brush) and Donutella (angled liner brush).
I love the little touches like the colored ferrules and tips of the brush.

Sephora Haul: tokidoki Pittura Brush set

Sephora Haul: tokidoki Pittura Brush set

These are synthetic bristles, and they feel super soft but stiff enough to work. I’m excited to try them out but I’m also afraid to ruin them, haha. Also, I’m not sure how to store them! I certainly can’t store them like my regular brushes, which I stick handle down in a homemade brush holder (i.e., jar full of decorative filler beads). And I can’t store them bristle down or they’ll warp. So this wasn’t the most practical purchase, but when am I ever practical when it comes to makeup? (Very rarely. The answer is very rarely.)

That’s it for my Sephora haul. Then I stopped by ULTA because I had a 20% off purchase coupon and I needed some more dry shampoo. I’ve tried a LOT of dry shampoos, and Batiste is still my favorite. I’ve never tried the Fresh scent before, so I picked it up to try out. I actually think this is my favorite scent of the ones I’ve tried so far! (I’ve used Original, a powdery lemon, and Blush, which is a sweet floral.) It reminds me a lot of Dolce & Gabbana Light Blue, actually. Just really clean and … well, fresh.

Ulta Haul: Batiste Dry Shampoo in Fresh

Ulta Haul: Batiste Dry Shampoo in Fresh

I wish we had all the variants the UK has! I’ve seen the colored ones before, though I’m not that interested. I’d really like to try Lace, in particular. I saw the Cherry scent at Urban Outfitters once, but I don’t buy from UO for personal reasons, so I didn’t get it.

Ulta Haul: L'Oreal EverPure Smooth Shampoo and Conditioner

Ulta Haul: L’Oreal EverPure Smooth Shampoo and Conditioner

I have plans to bleach and color my hair purple in the near future, so I wanted to get a sulfate-free shampoo to protect the color. Since I had such luck with the L’Oreal EverCreme cleansing conditioner, I picked up the EverPure Smooth shampoo and conditioner. I’ve only tried the Volume type before, and I waffled between Moisture or Smooth but my hair gets super frizzy very easily so I think Smooth is better for me. I’ll probably do a proper review on these after I’ve tested them for a bit!

And that’s all for today! I’m trying to be more frugal with my purchases, as I’m hoping to buy a house with my boyfriend this year or next. Expect lots of no-buys in the near future… 😛

Have any of y’all hauled anything neat lately? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

