Cruelty-free / Haul / Limited Edition (LE) Products / Lip Gloss / Reviews / Shiro Cosmetics / Vegan

Shiro Cosmetics Leg Lamp Holiday Lip Gloss Review, Swatches, Pictures

Ack, this is going to be a quick review because I’m slammed with “real life” stuff but I’m trying to stick to my resolution of 3 posts a week! I also wanted to get this up asap as the Shiro Cosmetics Leg Lamp gloss is a limited edition item, so they’ll be disappearing soon. (Psst: they’re on sale for $5.50 right now!)

Shiro Cosmetics Leg Lamp Holiday Lip Gloss

Shiro Cosmetics Leg Lamp Holiday Lip Gloss

The holiday gloss line are themed around that holiday favorite, A Christmas Story. My sister loves that movie and whichever channel it is that plays it 24/7 on Christmas (TBS? AMC?), I remember she always used to have it on the whole day.
Hopefully everyone is familiar with the movie and the famous leg lamp scene, which is probably still one of my favorite movie scenes of all time. There are also two other shades, Red Ryder and Triple Dog Dare. I ended up choosing this shade mostly because I wanted an in-spirit replacement for an old MAC favorite of mine, Ola Mango!. Ola Mango! is actually a warm orange-gold coral in the tube — however, on my lips, it disappears almost to a sheer wash of gold. I loved it for layering over lipsticks, especially for the holidays. However, it’s been long discontinued and my last tube I managed to snag from a swap on Makeup Alley years ago.

Shiro Cosmetics Leg Lamp Holiday Lip Gloss

Close-up of the illustration

Shiro Cosmetics Leg Lamp Holiday Lip Gloss

Ingredients

Shiro Cosmetics Leg Lamp Holiday Lip Gloss

Swatch

Leg Lamp is described as a “shimmery true gold” on the site. It’s rather neutral, and has a sort of antiqued quality to it. It is not at all dupeable for Ola Mango! as it doesn’t have that orange fire behind it. However, it’s still just lovely. This is a layering shade for sure, as it applies very sheer on lips.

Shiro Cosmetics Leg Lamp Holiday Lip Gloss

Shiro Cosmetics Leg Lamp Holiday Lip Gloss

It is scented rather strongly of toffee — I personally am very sensitive to scents other than certain fruits or florals. Although I love desserts, sweets and pastries in real life, I find these types of flavors/scents usually never quite live up to the real thing and leave me quite nauseated. This one isn’t terrible, but to be honest, if I had smelled this before buying, I probably would have passed on it.
However, once on lips, the scent fades rather quickly and I’m not overly bothered by it. This is, of course, a totally personal preference and you might love the toffee scent. 😛

It has a nice glide while not being sticky, and gives a shiny and glassy appearance. My only real complaint is with the doe-foot applicator, which is not unique to this gloss. I think the popular doe-foots are not the best for glosses, especially sheer ones which must be layered. This one in particular doesn’t pick up a lot of gloss and I find it pulls a lot of my base lip color off when I’m applying it.
Again, this isn’t unique to this gloss or Shiro Cosmetics, but it’s worth mentioning.

The gloss, like most, did not have an overly long wear time, especially because it is not sticky (very lightly tacky but not nearly anywhere as bad as a MAC Lipglass). I got around 1.5 hours to 2 hours of it, even without eating or drinking anything. It felt very comfortable on lips and did not have a lot of migration. It was neither hydrating nor drying.

Overall, I think this is a nice little gloss and I’m really excited to see Caitlin branch into more lip products. I’d love to see a line of opaque lipsticks from her!

Shiro Cosmetics is vegan and cruelty-free.
Price: $7 Currently on sale for $5.50 each!
Where to buy: Shiro Cosmetics
Would I repurchase?: If this weren’t a LE item, I would! It’s a great gloss which is beautiful when layered.

Disclosure: All product(s) featured in this post were purchased by me. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

