EOTD / FOTD

EOTD/FOTD – Year of the Snake / Chinese Opera Lite

There are so many holidays in this coming week, I was contemplating whether I wanted to do a Valentine’s Day look or a Chinese New Year look; I figured since everyone and their mother does a pink/red/white Valentine’s eye, I’d do something for Chinese New Year instead. 😛

Originally, I’d planned for this to be a very wearable face, appropriate for the New Year’s festivities and dinner and all that. But then I sat down to look for inspiration and I found some Chinese opera pictures and things just got kinda nuts. Unless you’re performing in a Chinese opera, this probably isn’t very wearable.

But hey, it was fun and that’s all that matters, right? 😀

EOTD/FOTD - Year of the Snake / Chinese Opera Lite

EOTD/FOTD – Year of the Snake / Chinese Opera Lite

I used a very light shade of foundation to mimic the white face paint used in Chinese opera, and powdered heavily. I used no blush or contour. Originally, I was modeling my lips off a chart I found online detailing the lip trends of ancient Chinese dynasties, but I decided since the whole look was a bit of a modern-day fusion, that I’d just do my own thing with it. I neutralized my lips with more foundation and drew an exaggerated shape, with an overly pronounced Cupid’s bow.

I had plans to block out my brows and redraw them on, but at that point, it was 4 in the morning and I was starting to get delirious so I just called it a night.

Eyes:
Urban Decay Primer Potion in Original
NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Black Bean
Wet n Wild ColorIcon Eye Shadow palette in Lust (top right shade; sparkly ivory)
Shiro Cosmetics eye shadow in Remake
Urban Decay eye shadow in Gash
Black Radiance Continuous Creme Eyeliner in Classic Black
shu uemura Eye Light Pencil in White

Face:
Urban Decay Brightening and Tightening Complexion Primer
Shiseido Perfect Refining Foundation in I40 (don’t know WHAT the SA that day was thinking, matching me to this…)
Urban Decay 24/7 Concealer in CIA
ELF Studio High Definition powder in Translucent
Lavshuca Face Powder in Lucent

Lips:
Wet n Wild MegaLast Lipstick in Spotlight Red
NYX Black Label lipstick in Opium
(mixed the two)

EOTD/FOTD - Year of the Snake / Chinese Opera Lite

EOTD/FOTD – Year of the Snake / Chinese Opera Lite

EOTD/FOTD - Year of the Snake / Chinese Opera Lite

EOTD/FOTD – Year of the Snake / Chinese Opera Lite

Red and gold are very traditional colors for Chinese holidays. Red in particular is a very lucky color, which is why you’ll see people wear red clothes, pass around red bags and decorate their house in red for New Year’s.

This is kind of out of my normal comfort zone, but I think it was pretty good overall. What do you think?
The only thing I’m not happy with is how round my face looks :<

Happy new year! Gong xi fa cai!

Leave a Reply

