Asian Beauty / Blush / Etude House / Haul / Limited Edition (LE) Products / Pretty and Cute / Reviews

Etude House Princess Etoinette Heart Blusher in PK001 Review, Swatches, Pictures

Along with the Etude House Princess Etoinette Crystal Shine Lips I picked up the other day, I also got the Heart Blusher in PK001. I was also interested in the loose powder, but I have enough loose powders as it is and this was so cute with the small conversation hearts, that it was a natural choice. Again, this seems to me to be a low-end dupe of the Les Merveilleuses de Laduree collection, specifically of the rose petal blusher.

Etude House Princess Etoinette Heart Blusher in PK001

I was a little worried, with it coming all the way from S. Korea that the hearts might get broken during shipping. Luckily, they packaged the hearts separately in a little plastic insert, so it was snugly protected in the box! Really nice touch. Unfortunately, there aren’t as many as I would like. There are only 10 hearts in the package. They are a little thicker than a conversation heart, maybe about twice the thickness of a normal candy.

Etude House Princess Etoinette Heart Blusher in PK001

Etude House Princess Etoinette Heart Blusher in PK001

Etude House Princess Etoinette Heart Blusher in PK001

Just like the Crystal Shine Lips, they smell beautifully of sugared roses. There is a small puff included. The lid is a screw top. Even if the hearts get used up (given it’s LE, I probably will rarely touch them, honestly!) the jar can be easily reused and filled with another powder of your choice.

Etude House Princess Etoinette Heart Blusher in PK001

Etude House Princess Etoinette Heart Blusher in PK001

There are three colors included: a pale, champagne pink, a medium baby pink, and a reddened pink. They are all very shimmery, but weakly pigmented. You can see in the swatches below how they just barely show up on my skin, and this is after I took each individual heart and heavily swatched it down my arm.

Etude House Princess Etoinette Heart Blusher in PK001

The puff is cute, but really impractical for use. It’s better to use a fluffy brush and swirl it over the hearts. This produces a very, very gentle flush that’s very shimmery on skin. If you have large pores, this may accentuate their appearance. Wear time is not great. Even over a primer, I got around 2-3 hours before the color faded and it was just a light sheen left on my cheeks.

Asian blushers in general tend to be weakly pigmented. Unlike American blush trends, the Asian trend for quite some time has been naturally flushed, glowing cheeks. So on that point, it wasn’t unexpected for this blush to be so understated and shimmery.

Again, just as with the Crystal Shine Lips, this is a rather underwhelming product which makes up its appeal in packaging and gimmicks. But I knew what I was getting into when I bought it. 😛

I bought mine off eBay from seller zinopark, who included 2 samples.

Samples

Etude House Precious Mineral BBdation and Skin Food Watery Berry Wrap Mask

They were the Etude House Precious Mineral BBdation (I suppose this is a BB cream / foundation hybrid) and the Skin Food Watery Berry Wrap Mask. The BBdation was way too light for me, as usual, but I swatched it regardless.

Etude House Precious Mineral BBDation

The Skin Food Watery Berry Wrap Mask was a strange beast. It was a thick, jelly-like texture which applied smoothly onto skin. You could either use it like a sleeping mask or leave on, then wipe off. I left it on. I suspect the texture was from a high glycerin content, but I can’t find the ingredients list to confirm. Despite this, it did not leave my skin as hydrated as I would have liked. Most disappointing, it did not smell of berries.

Price: I paid $26 on eBay. Since this is LE and imported, markup may be worse now. It’s especially expensive on P&C.
Where to buy: eBay or Pretty and Cute
Would I repurchase?: No, the blusher is overly frosty, not nearly as pigmented as I would like and its wear time is disappointingly short.

Disclosure: All product(s) featured in this post were purchased by me. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

