Cruelty-free / Drugstore Options / Lipstick / Milani / Reviews / Swatches

Milani Color Statement Lipstick in Violet Volt Review, Swatches, Pictures

I loved the Milani Color Statement lipstick in High Voltage I reviewed the other day so much that I’ve been on the prowl lately for other shades. I mentioned last time I wanted to try Sweet Nectar, Flamingo Pose, Violet Volt and D’oro. I haven’t had any luck finding the other three yet, but when I popped into CVS to pick up a prescription the other day, I noticed they had Violet Volt so I picked it up to swatch!

Milani Color Statement Lipstick in Violet Volt

Violet Volt is described as purple metallic. This is a cool-toned magenta purple with a strong blue sheen. This was not quite as strongly opaque as High Voltage, though it applied just as nicely. It did seem to have small problems with patchiness which were remedied by a second swipe.

Milani Color Statement Lipstick in Violet Volt

Milani Color Statement Lipstick in Violet Volt

Unfortunately, due to the heavy metallic finish (and the blue sheen) it emphasized my lip lines. My lips were properly moisturized and prepped in these pictures, but you can see how they look very dry. From a normal viewing distance, it was not overly noticeable but it’s worth mentioning.

Milani Color Statement Lipstick in Violet Volt

Milani Color Statement Lipstick in Violet Volt

It did cling to lips nicely and had slightly longer lasting power than High Voltage, I found. Also, once it faded, it had stained my lips this absolutely gorgeous, super flattering berry shade. That was most surprising to me — if applied very lightly and blotted, it can look very natural and my-lips-but-better.

So Violet Volt is a bit of a chameleon. It’s a bold, outrageous shade for when you want it, but you can definitely tone it down for even every day or office wear.
I’m very surprised and impressed. I really have to up the hunt for the other shades I want now!

Price: $5.49
Where to buy: Milani or anywhere Milani is sold
Would I repurchase?: Yes! Despite its bold shade, it can be toned down for every day wear. However, it’s beautiful on its own! The Milani Color Statement line continues to amaze me!

Disclosure: All product(s) featured in this post were purchased by me. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

