Beautylish / Cruelty-free / Eyeshadow / HG Products / Indie Brands / Limited Edition (LE) Products / Love and Gifts / Reviews / Sugarpill / Swatches

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow Review, Swatches, Pictures

Here we are on day two of Sugarpill week! Well, it won’t actually be a whole week of Sugarpill… but you get what I mean. Today, I have the Sugarpill limited edition @#$%! eyeshadow. How do you pronounce that? Beats me! I just call it the Sugarpill limited edition shadow.

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Being a limited release, it was available briefly in Fall 2012 on the Sugarpill website and before that, it was only available at IMATS. However, I got this complimentary with my recent Beautylish order of the Heartbreaker palette. Where to find it now? I’m honestly not sure where, besides Beautylish. At the time I got my palette, it was unavailable for purchase separately. Looking at the site now, it makes no mention of the deal on either the @#$%! shadow page, or the Heartbreaker palette page, BUT the shadow itself is still not available for single purchase. So… I’m not sure. :/

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Love the continued theme all over on the packaging

I cannot find official shade descriptions on the web, so my take on it is a vibrant matte berry red with silver sparkles. As with all Sugarpill shades, the pigmentation is extraordinarily; the swatch actually stained my skin quite a bit.

I am unsure if this is vegan or not. The ingredients list says it “may contain” carmine, but that seems to be more of a blanket list for the formulas than the individual shade. I would, however, bet money that it is not vegan, as vegan red shadows are very hard to come by (the inclusion of carmine being the most popular way to create reds).
Of course, Sugarpill is always cruelty-free. Yay!

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Swatched dry over bare skin

All the Sugarpill pressed shadow singles contain 4g or 0.14oz of product. As I mentioned in my Heartbreaker review, this is more than double the amount of normal shadows, which usually contain around 0.05 oz of product (such as Urban Decay and MAC). Also, the Sugarpill palettes contain the exact same amount of shadow which is actually quite noteworthy.

Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow

Same amount in palettes and pressed singles

Small and almost completely irrelevant thing I noticed: Sugarpill does not repackage private label products. However, I have an ULTA shadow single which is packaged in the same little flip-top pot. The colors are different, as the ULTA one is metallic silver and the Sugarpill satin black, but it’s the exact same package. I just thought it was interesting how the makeup world really can be kind of incestuous sometimes. Even if a company creates their own formulas, they have to get their packaging from somewhere and it almost always is prohibitively expensive to create your own unless you’re a giant company (injection molding is not cheap!).
This is not saying anything against Sugarpill or makeup companies in general — I just notice stupid little things like that. 😛 Like I said, this is almost irrelevant.

OK, can I pause here and get a flashback sequence going? I love red shadows. Love, love, love them. They don’t always look great on me, but they make me nostalgic. When I was younger, I went through a goth phase (as many teenagers do). Even though I grew out of the gloom and moodiness, I still love certain goth fashion, music, etc.
I remember watching The Crow: City of Angels (I acknowledge, then and now, that it’s an awful, terrible movie) and just being absolutely entranced by Mia Kirshner’s makeup. The red-rimmed eyes made her look soulful and mysterious, and always on the verge of tears. To a little baby bat like me, that was the epitome of cool.

But back then? Bright shadows were not easy to find, and certainly not reds unless you had access to theatre makeup. For my very first cosplay a decade ago (yikes), the look required deep blue lipstick. Even scouring the Kryolan and Ben Nye catalogs, I could not find the right shade. I ended up improvising with a blue eyeliner I found at the drugstore. Nowadays, with so many mainstream and indie companies creating such beautiful, quality products, it’s so much easier (and that’s part of the reason why I think cosplay has just exploded!).

When I got a bit older, I made my first venture into Sephora and I saw the Urban Decay display and my eyes instantly zeroed in on Gash (a frosted brick red). To me at the time, paying $18 for an eyeshadow was absolutely ludicrous but I forked over the money without a second thought.

Alright, end flashback sequence, cue wavy lines and dreamy noise fade-out.

Anyway, it just makes me happy to know that, now, I have amassed quite a few reds. And purples, and blues, and just about every other bright, super unnatural eyeshadow shade out there.

Enough babbling. What do you think of this shade? I’m already planning out the myriad looks I can get with my new Sugarpill!

Price: Sugarpill pressed singles normally retail for $12.
Where to buy: Being a limited edition release, this is normally only available at IMATS. You may be able to receive it free with purchase of the Heartbreaker palette from Beautylish; please contact Beautylish CS before ordering to confirm, however.
Would I repurchase?: All Sugarpill shadows are generously sized, so it’s doubtful I’ll ever hit pan on this, but YES! It’s beautiful, unique, insanely pigmented and overall great quality.

Disclosure: Product(s) featured in this post were given to me as a gift. All opinions are my own.

One thought on “Sugarpill Limited Edition @#$%! Eyeshadow Review, Swatches, Pictures

  1. Pingback: Sugarpill Burning Heart Palette Review, Swatches, PicturesBubble Tea Panda

Leave a Reply

