Beauty Box Subscriptions / Cruelty-free / Julep Maven / Nail Polish / Reviews

Julep Maven April Box

I purchased the products featured in this post. All opinions are my own. This post contains an affiliate/referral link at the end.

I’ve got a bit of the blogging blahs. I’m in my final quarter of grad school, so it’s true I’m a bit busier than normal, but even so I’ve been forgoing blogging for lazing about or playing video games. I’ve already roundly broken my New Year’s resolution of 3 posts a week, and I guess that just made me feel like I’ve already failed so why keep going? D: That’s a horrible philosophy. Anyway! I joked that I might not get this box up in time before my Julep May box, and I was right. I got my May Maven box yesterday so I was like, “Oops. Better put up my Julep Maven April box…”

Julep Maven April Box

April’s theme was Turn on the Brights. I honestly didn’t like any of the color combinations offered -that- much, but I finally settled on the Bombshell box which came with Ally, Janel and the Mighty Nail & Cuticle Serum. The “free” gift was a stick of rock candy. Cute, but rock candy is pretty gross after the initial novelty factor. I mean, it’s literally just sugar. 😛

Descriptions are taken from the Julep website.

Julep Maven April Box

Left: Janel
Right: Ally

Janel is described as a “pink raspberry frost.” This is a little more fuchsia than raspberry to me, but lovely nonetheless.
Ally is described as “electric blueberry frost.”
The formulas on these were the best of all the Julep shades I’ve tried so far. They flowed nicely and self-leveled well. They were not goopy, thicky or hard to work with at all.

Julep Maven April Box

Left: Janel
Right: Ally

The Mighty Nail & Cuticle Serum claims that its peptide-infused formula helps nails rebuild keratin and collagen. It comes in a click-pen applicator, much like YSL’s Touche Eclat or Stila’s Lip & Cheek Stains. The serum is very light and quick absorbing, making it ideal for on-the-go application but even after continued use for a week, I saw no visible improvement in my cuticles. I left it in my desk at work for quick touch-ups.

Overall, this month’s box was a bit of a dud for me. I have cuticle creams and oils and serums out the wazoo, and the shades offered were not that unique, in my opinion. Still, the formulas of the polishes were great, the best of the ones I’ve tried so far.

I’m very excited about the Julep Maven May box, which I’ve already got in my grubby paws. I need to photograph it asap so I can try to get it up… well, hopefully before my Julep June box! 😛

What do you think of the shades in this month’s box?

If you’re interested in becoming a Julep Maven, please consider using my referral link here; I’ll receive Jules, their version of points if you sign up. Otherwise, feel free to ignore this!

Leave a Reply

