Collectables / Disney / Limited Edition (LE) Products / Reviews / Sephora

Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact Review and Photos

[button link=”http://bubbleteapanda.com/pr-disclosure-privacy/” target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow” color=”FTC” shape=”rounded” size=”small” align=”left”]I Purchased This[/button]

If you recall from my Sephora Disney Jasmine compact review, I’m a huge Disney fan. I’m still upset about missing the Cinderella compact, so this time around, I tried to be on my toes for the Ariel compact. I somehow still managed to miss it online. I hopped on at midnight when it released, dropped it in my cart and by the time I made it to checkout, it was sold out. Can you believe that? This Disney obsession is getting out of control… Luckily, I live in a rather small-ish city (the only time I’ll say luckily about that!) so I booked it to my local Sephora the first day of August and asked a friendly SA if they had it in stock.
And, just like with the Jasmine compact, they didn’t have it out on the floor yet but they were more than glad to pull it from the back for me.

So, without further ado, here is the Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact mirror!

Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact

As with all the compacts, the bar code is themed; this time, it’s seahorses. So cute!

Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact

If I’m honest, Ariel is not one of my favorite princesses although I think she might be the most popular by far. But I really love this compact. The teal turquoise background is beautifully striking against the silver filigree of fish leaping around Ariel and Eric in the infamous “Kiss the Girl” scene. It’s iconic without being childish, which can be a hard line to toe, honestly.

Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact

Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact

Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact

Inside, the text on the mirror says: you’ve got to be you.

Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact

As with all the mirrors, they’re made of real metal and have a great hefty feel in the hand. Unlike my Jasmine compact which came out of the box slightly scuffed looking due to the machining, I could find no out of the box defects on this one.

Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact

It’s beautiful, but I think it’s my least favorite design of the three released so far. That’s not to say I don’t like it, but I prefer the other two; unfortunately, my favorite is the Cinderella compact which is now long gone and selling on eBay for around $200. I can only hope Sephora may do a re-release in the future…

Rumor has it that this will be the last Sephora Disney collection as Disney has released their own line of cosmetics to be sold at the parks. That’s rather disappointing, as I was hoping for an Aurora and Belle compact. Oh, and Mulan! That one would be absolutely gorgeous.

Because August is my birth month, I also received my Beauty Insider gift. Unfortunately, it seems my local Sephora is a little backed up on old stock as I received the same gift as last year, a mini duo of Fresh Sugar lip treatments. Online, the gift is a mini set of Benefit Watt’s Up highlighter and They’re Real mascara, both of which I were hoping to try. I also picked up a mini size tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara for 100 points.

Sephora Beauty Insider Birthday Gift and tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara

Sephora Beauty Insider Birthday Gift and tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara

tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara

I’m already a fan of the Fresh Sugar lip treatments, so despite my disappointment at receiving the same gift, this isn’t that bad. It’s extremely convenient to have the mini tubes to stash at work, in my various purses, etc.
The tarte mascara provides great volume and length, but without a strong curling or waterproof formula, my lashes remain drooped and stick-straight. This is just a reality of my life. (TT^TT)

If I were a different person, I might consider going back to Sephora and picking up a few more compacts to sell on eBay… if I sold even just one, I could afford to buy the Cinderella compact! 😛 In retrospect, it would have been nice for me to pick one up for a giveaway, though. I may have to pop by and see if any are left in stock~

What do you think of the Sephora Disney Ariel compact? Which Disney Princess is your favorite?

4 thoughts on “Sephora Disney Ariel Set the Mood Compact Review and Photos

  1. i am so jealous that you get to have this really beautiful mirror 🙂 i wanted to buy it online bec we dont have sephora here but the shipping is too big. im happy for you ❤

  2. Wahh, it’s so pretty. I think it was you I told about how I got my twin to ship me the Cinderella palette from the states. I don’t use it that often because not all the shades are super pigmented, but I love the packaging.

Leave a Reply

