Cruelty-free / Lipstick / Reviews / Sephora / Swatches / Urban Decay / Vegan

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang Review, Swatches and Pictures

[button link=”http://bubbleteapanda.com/pr-disclosure-privacy/” target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow” color=”FTC” shape=”rounded” size=”small” align=”left”]Gift[/button]

It was my birthday several weeks ago, so as part of my gift, my boyfriend got me the new Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in the shade Bang. Of course, I picked the color out… Can you imagine him trying to choose from among 22 shades? :-_-: I first got a sample of this lipstick in my August ipsy bag, and I was utterly infatuated from that point on. I have recently come to be obsessed with orange lipsticks, so I naturally gravitated towards Bang, a bright orange-red cream.


Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang


Urban Decay recently discontinued their old line of lipsticks, and introduced the Revolution line. They describe these as “creamy, badass luxury” and there’s really no better way to describe it. When I first tried it on, it was like total sploosh. They introduced 22 new colors, and also included new corresponding lip liners for each shade. The colors run the spectrum from neutrals to berries to pinks to reds. In addition, there are two shades, Protest and Strip, which are exclusive to their online store.


Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang


The new tube is simple, but unique and gorgeous nonetheless. I liked the old tube design, but it was rather unwieldy and could draw a lot of attention — something which gets old fast, trust me! It’s still eye-catching, but infinitely classier. The new tube is a dirty gunmetal pewter in color, and has a neat obliquely faceted look to it. Unfortunately, it does seem to collect fingerprints rather easily.


Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang


Compared to the old tubes, the new lipstick is much slimmer and less flashy. You can see the difference below. The inner tubes are still purple metal, but the shape of the lipstick itself has also changed.


New on the left, old on the right

New on the left, old on the right


I was a fan of Urban Decay’s old lipstick line, and one of my all-time favorites was Pistol, a neutral mauve which was a great my-lips-but-better shade. I liked it so much that I repurchased it once, and when I found out they were discontinuing the line, I snapped up another backup. This is Pistol below.


Urban Decay Lipstick in Pistol

So… drool…worthy…


The new lipstick has a flat angled tip, whereas the old lipstick had a traditional slanted bullet tip. In addition, as you can see, the old lipstick had an embossing of the Urban Decay logo and a dagger on its side, something which was very cool.

One change which I’m glad for is that the new Revolution lipsticks are scent- and flavor-less. One complaint I had with Urban Decay’s old lipsticks were the “creme brulee” scent which just smelled like burnt cotton candy to me and which, in some specific shades, left a terrible bitter taste in your mouth. I thought people were being babies until I got one of those horrific shades (can’t remember which now) and was nearly gagging. Trust me when I say I have a strong constitution for most anything but that lipstick tasted so bad it went straight back to Sephora.

I also have another orange lipstick from Urban Decay, the Super Saturated Lip Color in Punch Drunk. I was worried they would be the same, but they actually are quite different — well, to a beauty junkie anyway. :nod: (They’re not the same — they’re similar!!)

But seriously, Punch Drunk is a true bright orange, whereas Bang has a noticeable reddened quality to it. It’s not quite as glossy as Punch Drunk, though it’s not matte at all. I got completely opaque coverage in one swipe.


Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang

Bang on top; Punch Drunk on bottom


One thing which I love especially about the Revolution lipsticks so far is their ability to make my lips look lush and plump. I have naturally deep lip lines, which can make certain lipsticks look terribly unflattering on me. (For years, I relied solely on lip gloss without understanding why.) If you look at my other lip swatches, you can see how despite proper prepping, my lips sometimes look dry and cracked. This is one of the first swatches I’ve done where I really liked the way my lips look. It had a great lightweight and comfortable feel on — more importantly, my lips weren’t left feeling parched afterwards.


Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang
Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang


Despite its creamy texture, it didn’t slip and slide off my lips. I got a solid 6 hours of wear of it, despite intermittent sipping on tea and snacking. There was slight bleeding, but no feathering — of course, using a lip liner will likely fix this issue. I have a clear one from ELF which I use to line the outside of my lips to prevent migration.

Overall, the Urban Decay Revolution lipstick is quality in every way and a definite improvement upon their previous offerings. I think it’s worth every penny!

Pros:
+ Great selection of shades
+ Plumping effect without irritating ingredients
+ Comfortable, hydrating formula

Cons:
– Not particularly budget-friendly

Price: $22
Availability: Urban Decay or Sephora


3 thoughts on “Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang Review, Swatches and Pictures

  1. Gorgeous. Still never tried an Urban Decay lipstick, because the availability isn’t great here and shipping ughhh. I love my Urban Decay palettes, though.

    Haha, boyfriends and make up. They can’t be trusted to pick things out. xD

    • I could have SWORN I responded to this when you first commented… eep! And that is a shame about the availability! But now I’m wondering… what are some typical Australian brands? Are there any that aren’t available in the US?

  2. hehehe i salute any guy who buys makeup for their gfs as gifts. my bf went to sephora alone once to get me the naked 1 palette and he was so confused, he spent hours inside the store comparing all the palettes 😀

Leave a Reply

