Tidbits

Get to Know Me: Beauty Blogger Tag

I’ve found that, at least for me, blogging is heavily reliant on emotional inertia — the more posts I write, the more I keep wanting to write. If I take even a small break, I begin to lose steam and have to force myself back into writing.

But when I restarted my blogging efforts, I promised myself that writing this blog would be purely for fun — if it began to feel like a chore again, I was doing something wrong. Still, there’s something to be said for pushing yourself. :aha:

I have a few posts that are clogged up in the pipes, which I haven’t quite hammered out yet, but I started feeling a bit anxious that it’s been so long. Again, I knew the longer I let them sit, the more likely it would be that I’d never get around to posting them. :-_-: Luckily, one of my favorite blogger, Bethany from Beauty Junkie, recently did a “Get to Know Me” tag. So, I thought this would be a good opportunity to try to get myself back in the swing of things! Hopefully someone out there cares to get to know me… :dance:

Boom! Headshot!

Boom! Headshot!

By the way, this is the look I wore to Mecha-Con, an anime convention in my state which was held at the end of August. I have a circle lense review coming up, and I’ll list the products used then but I didn’t want this to be a picture-less post!

Questions

1. Is your hair natural curly or straight?
It’s naturally straight, with a little bit of a wave. Especially since I live in such a humid climate, it has a tendency to get super frizzy. Nowadays, I’m not so bothered by it but when I was in high school, I straightened my hair every. single. day. 😯 I’m still shocked it wasn’t falling off in clumps.

2. Do you dye it yourself or go to a salon?
I’ve only had my hair dyed in a salon once, and it was a miserable experience that ended with my color washing straight out the very next day (I had bright blue streaks put in). Since then, I’ve dyed my hair myself. I recently re-dyed my under layer purple, so it looks very similar to the picture in this post.

3. Do you wear the same style everyday, or do you change it?
When I find myself wearing the same style every day, that’s when I know it’s time for a haircut. :nod: And as of a few months ago, I’ve begun cutting my own hair too. It’s gone well so far! And I save so much money…

4. Do you do your own mani/pedi or go to a salon?
Again, I’m a do-it-myselfer. My sister loves to get her nails done, so usually I go with her when she’s visiting, but other than that, I do my own nails. I usually get just as good, if not better results than the salons, if I’m honest.

5. How often do you change your nail polish?
Just like with blogging, I go in spurts or not at all. If I’ve taken the time to do a nice manicure, I tend to maintain and switch it out regularly. But if I let it lag even a bit, I just keep putting it off until my nails are a mess. Like now. :blush:

6. Do you polish your toes in the winter or just in the summer?
In Louisiana, winter doesn’t last long at all, and there are days where, even in the dead of December, I am wearing boots one week and flip-flops the next. So, if I’m maintaining my nails, I’ll do my toes as well.

7. How long does it take for you to put on your makeup?
Depends! If I’m just throwing something on to run out the door, maybe 10 minutes. If I’m doing a “light” full face, around 30 minutes. If I’m doing a “full-on” full face, sometimes I might be in front of the mirror for close to an hour.

8. What do you do first? Face or eyes?
I always do my eyes first. That way, if there’s any sort of fallout or mess on my cheeks, I can easily swipe it off with a makeup removal wipe or cover it with foundation.

9. Do you collect makeup or just buy what you need when you need it?
:-_-: …I plead the fifth.

10. How often do you wear false eyelashes?
Very rarely. I wore falsies to Mecha-Con, but I did that more as an experiment in my personal tolerance than anything else.

11. Do you do a full face of makeup everyday?
Not even kind of close. Even if I’m going out-going out lately, it’s a toss-up whether or not I’ll do a full face of makeup. For special occasions, of course.

12. Do you wear makeup when you’re home alone, or with family?
Never. I may play with makeup at home alone, but I won’t put it on just for no reason.

13. Will you leave the house without makeup?
I usually do. There was a period of time where I felt compelled to wear makeup every time I left the house just to try to use up my endless stash, but since I’ve cut back my spending habits, I don’t have that guilt anymore.

14. How many high-end products do you have?
Hmm, without being able to look at my stash at the moment, I think I have maybe a 3:5 ratio of high-end to low-end products. Of course, I consider Urban Decay and other “mid-level” brands to be high-end. Hey, if Ulta considers them prestige, so can I. My wallet certainly does.

15. Do you plan your OOTD every night or decide when you are getting dressed?
So long as it’s clean… I usually rummage through and throw something on. I’m not very fashion-forward, although I’m actively trying to get better!

16. How often do you change your handbag?
Maybe a few times a year. Not for any reason, though. I really want to get a huuuuge tote because I’m a packrat.

17. What time do you wake up and go to sleep?
I’m a night owl by habit, but I work varying shifts. So, I work overnights one week, and then I’ll work the exact opposite day shift next week. In that way, I’m literally changing my sleeping habits every week.

18. How often or when do you workout?
Not often enough, though I have just started the Couch to 5K program! I used to work out regularly, at least a few times a week, but since starting this job (two years ago), I’ve been in a perpetual state of “adjusting to the schedule.” I’m softer and squishier than I would like now, though, so I’m trying to change that.

19. Left handed or right handed?
Right-handed. I’m totally useless with my left hand.

20. How tall are you?
5’8″ or ~172 cm.

21. Do you speak any foreign language?
I speak Chinese natively, although I can’t read or write it. I studied Japanese in college (though it wasn’t my major) but I’ve since lost most of my proficiency after graduating. I’m trying to get back into it, but it’s a little embarrassing how little I know now.

22. How many pets do you have?
I have two shih-tzus, Goose and Maverick. They’re my babies~ :dance:

23. How often are you on blogger?
I check my stats usually once a day, but obviously, I’m not posting every day.

24. Do you read comments posted on blogs?
On mine, every single one, though I have to admit, I’m terrible at responding sometimes. On other blogs, I might read a few if it’s a topic I’m very interested in.

25. Do you keep a list of products to try as you see other posts?
Not explicitly, but when I go on a haul, I usually end up referring to other posts to narrow down my choices.

26. How did you come up with your Blog name?
This is mentioned in my About section!

27. What kind of camera do you use for your photographs?
I have a Sony DSC T2. Yes. It’s super old. But it still takes passable pictures, and I’m a terrible photographer anyway.

28. How often do you clean your house?
I try to clean as I go along, but I’ll do a full deep clean maybe once a month. Is that good or bad? :shiver:

29. What’s your favorite color?
Purple! Though I also love pink, red and black.

30. Do you swear?
All the fucking time.

31. What are you doing with the rest of your day?
Well, I’m at work at the moment (on my overnight shift, as I mentioned earlier), so once I get off in a few hours I’ll be asleep! By the time this post is published, I’ll be snug as a bug in my bed with my puppies~


And that’s it! I used to do posts like these all the time back in the LiveJournal days, but recently, I’ve felt no one is that interested in my life. Maybe even now they’re not, but this was fun anyway. Anyway, hopefully this is the push I need to get those other posts finished!

Back to work now… shhh…

2 thoughts on “Get to Know Me: Beauty Blogger Tag

  1. So glad you did this one. ^_^ I’ve been really interested to read everyone’s answers. Even though I didn’t explicitly tag anyone, a lot of my blogging friends have ended up doing this tag now too.

    I know the feeling about getting back into blogging. At the moment I’m churning out like 3 posts a week, but if I lapse, it can be like 2 weeks between posts. >.>

    Why is everyone I follow so pretty? >.> SRSLY.

    • Awwwww! Thank you! *blush* I try to pretty up for the camera xD

      I’m trying to be better about posting regularly and get into a groove, but since my schedule is so varied anyway, it’s hard! :c

Leave a Reply

