Brushes / Cover FX / Cruelty-free / Foundation / Makeup Brushes / Reviews / Swatches / Vegan

Cover FX Total Cover Cream Foundation in G50 Review and Swatches

[button link=”http://bubbleteapanda.com/pr-disclosure-privacy/” target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow” color=”FTC” shape=”rounded” size=”small” align=”left”]I Won This[/button]

My days of entering giveaways like a madwoman finally paid off! Phyrra, who is one of my favorite cruelty-free beauty bloggers, recently held a giveaway on her blog for a Cover FX Total Cover Cream Foundation and cream foundation brush. I entered, as I enter so many other giveaways, not really expecting much, but to my surprise, I was one of the lucky winners! Oh happy day! This is especially timely as I was that very week debating whether or not I wanted to pull the trigger and get the NARS Radiant Cream Compact Foundation. (I ended up splurging on the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer, but I haven’t received it yet and anyway, that’s a review for another day! I also may STILL get the NARS foundation, because you know… gotta catch ’em all!)


coverfx-cream-foundation-01



By the way… I’m trying out new ways of watermarking my photos, and I’m TOTES AWARE that these pictures are incredibly obnoxious. It wasn’t until I had done the batch that I was like, “Oh man, this looks awful.” but of course, like a goob, I hadn’t saved any of the working files. So, I would have had to re-do all of them and ain’t nobody got time for that. Just please be aware that I probably hate how obnoxious the watermark is on these pictures more than you do, and I’m sorry and will never do it again. :shiver: OK, let’s move on.

I was hit by a pretty nasty bout of food poisoning earlier this week, which gave me plenty of time to play around and test-drive this foundation even though I just received it. I slept and barfed my way through most of Tuesday and Wednesday, but by Thursday, I was feeling well enough to actually sit up and do things instead of just gaze sadly into a trash can or toilet. I’m still actually having trouble keeping things down, but that’s a huge improvement from Tuesday when I couldn’t even drink water!

Anyway, here are the deets on the foundation and the brush. The Cover FX Total Cover Cream foundation retails for $42 for 0.33 oz, and the cream foundation brush retails for $38. Both the foundation and brush are cruelty-free and both are also vegan (bonus!). Below are pictures of the foundation case, which includes a mirror and sponge in a separate compartment; as well as the brush, compared to two of my other favorite foundation brushes (neatly sandwiched between high-end and low-end!).


coverfx-cream-foundation-02

coverfx-cream-foundation-03

coverfx-cream-foundation-05


The foundation is available in 28 shades, and has an SPF 30 with broad-spectrum UVA and UVB protection. It is free of: gluten, mineral oil, fragrance, parabens, talc, sulfates, synthetic dyes, petrochemicals, phthalates, GMOs and triclosan (whew). You know me, I follow science and empiricism and all that stuff, so I don’t buy into a lot of these beauty boogeymen, but basically, if you’re worried about anything, you won’t find it in this! Except avobenzone. It does have avobenzone. But that’s nothing to be worried about. (But neither are parabens or GMOs or sulfates and and and OK, getting off my soapbox.)

I used the Cover FX PNG shade finder tool on their website to match myself. They divide their shades into three groups: P, for pink; N, for neutral; and G, for golden. It matched me to G50 which, after perusing their shade selection myself, I thought was a pretty good match. In fact, it was a perfect match, so thumbs up for a great shade matching system and actually having a shade that fits me!


coverfx-cream-foundation-04


Now for the scary part: a picture of my naked face! Oh the horror! The oily shine! The post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation (PIH)! The dark circles! The acne! But you also see how well the foundation covers!


coverfx-cream-foundation-06


The left is my completely bare face, except that I filled in my brows and am wearing lip gloss. But you can see I have lots of spots of hyperpigmentation from the sun and acne scarring, as well as current acne spots and rough texture in certain areas. The right is with the Cover FX Total Cover Cream foundation applied, as well as some eye makeup, blush and setting powder. If my skin looks lighter in the after, it’s because I set it with the ELF HD powder which I ALWAYS forget is a big no-no for photographs. I should have stuck with my good ole Ben Nye banana powder! I did NOT use a primer before this picture, as I wanted to show off just the foundation’s efforts, but I suspect that that would make a huge difference with coverage.

Cover FX call this a 2-in-1 concealer and foundation. I went over my trouble areas, like the dark circles under my eyes, and my PIH but it did not fully cover them. Granted, I usually have to pull out a cavalry of concealers in all sorts of colors to truly neutralize those, so I’m quite impressed at the coverage it did give me. Most of my dark spots are visibly diminished, enough so that for everyday wear, it would be perfectly acceptable to me.

I’m not a huge fan of the cream foundation brush for application. It’s very, very dense and soft — almost floppy — so that it is a struggle to pick up any foundation and then harder still to blend it out without brush streaks. If you have the Too Faced Air Buffed BB creme, the texture is very similar — it’s very, very hard and almost dry without being dry. I much prefer the Shiseido Perfect Foundation brush, but that is basically a little baby Jesus brush, so no surprise there. The included sponge applicator is useless. I almost never enjoy a sponge for application, the sole and shining exception being the sponge included with the Dior Diorskin Forever Compact foundation which is just on another level. If I could buy just that sponge, I would. It’s seriously that awesome.

I wore this foundation three days in a row with no primer, and it has exceptional staying power. It was still going strong six hours later, with the barest hint of wear beginning to show around hour eight. Because it is a cream foundation, it must be set with a powder, unless you want the dewy look. I think without a setting powder, some of the longevity might be compromised.

Overall, this is a really solid foundation and definitely moving into my daily arsenal! I’ve never tried anything from Cover FX before, so this was a great introduction and I’m especially pleased that I found a color match with almost little trouble. I’m simply pleased as punch. :dance:

Have you tried anything from Cover FX before?

Please check out Phyrra’s review of the Cover FX Total Cover Cream Foundation HERE! Thanks to both Phyrra and Cover FX for this giveaway!

4 thoughts on “Cover FX Total Cover Cream Foundation in G50 Review and Swatches

    • Haha, thank you! I may have had a touch of watermark madness when I wrote that…

      The more I use this, the more I’m enjoying it. I definitely recommend trying it out 😀

Leave a Reply

